Skip to content

A Costly Cheapskate Mistake for My Collection

December 9, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Those of you who have followed this blog for any length of time will know that I am working toward making my hobby financially self sufficient.  In other words I want to sell off unwanted pieces of my collection and have the proceeds be the sole source of funds paying for the items I do want.

I’m not there yet, but I’ve been getting closer and closer every year since I started monitoring my progress toward this major goal back in 2012.

Part of my pursuit of this objective involves being incredibly careful with how I spend the limited funds I have available.  I have no choice but to hunt for bargains, making every single penny count when pursuing new items to add to my permanent collection.

But every now and then my bargain hunting strays into the less than positive world of being a complete cheapskate.  When that happens bad things for my collection tend to follow.

The most recent example of my bargain hunting ending up on the cheapskate end of things occurred over the past week.

I came across a 2000-01 Topps Premier Plus Blue Ice parallel of Daniel Tkaczuk; one of the few cards remaining on my want list for this specific player collection.

The card had an opening bid of $1.00 with a Buy It Now option of $1.50.

I have a bad habit of assuming there are no other people out there interested in Tkaczuk cards, which caused is what caused the line between bargain hunter and cheapskate to be blurred.

“Why pay $1.50 when I’ll probably be the only bidder on this card?” I asked myself.

So I input my bid of $1.00 and prepared to wait out the week until the card would become mine.

As you can tell from the theme of this article, that isn’t how things turned out at all.

The day after my bid was placed I received an alert on my cell phone via the eBay mobile app that I had been outbid.  The card was only up to $1.25, so I figured I’d wait until the day it ended to up my bid to $1.51 and take the card, even though I’d have to overpay by a penny.  After all, who else would want a Daniel Tkaczuk card for much beyond the opening bid?

Again, I was wrong.

When I logged in to eBay yesterday to check on the card yesterday morning I felt like I had just been smacked in the face; the card had received more bids and was up to $6.50!

As much as I wanted the card, that price was well beyond my limit for pretty much anything of Daniel Tkaczuk, especially when I knew it could have been mine for just $1.50.

In the end, $6.50 is exactly what the card ended up going for, but the 50 cents is number has been ringing in my head ever since. 

I missed out on a card I have wanted and needed for a long time, all in the name of 50 measly cents.

Rather than jumping on a card I’d been in search of for over a decade, I thought I would save myself a couple of quarters and snag what I felt was a bargain by bidding rather than using the Buy It Now feature.

Though my attempt at bargain hunting definitely came back to haunt me on this occasion, at least it reminded me of how I need to take a balanced approach to adding to my collection.

Adding cards at a bargain price is definitely worth it, but becoming a complete cheapskate in the name of bargain hunting is just not worth it.

###

Do you have an example of a of time that you were a cheapskate and ended up missing out on a card or collectible you really should have secured for your collection?

Let me know your story by posting a comment, sending me an e-mail, or connecting with me on Facebook and Twitter.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

