Skip to content

A Flippin’ Success, Volume 3

December 12, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Every time I attend a Toronto Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo I make a point of reserving some money to spend on items that I believe I can flip for a profit through my eBay Store.

In 2012 those items have become a part of what I have been referring to all year as my “investment project” (otherwise known as “Business” Goal #4).

This past Expo show was actually a little lighter than usual when it comes to the number of items that I purchased for this project.  I spent just under $85 on 30 different cards at the show. 

Last weekend that batch of cards came to an end on the auction block at my eBay Store and once again the results proved to be very positive for the bottom line of that investment project.

Of those 30 items that I purchased at the show and posted in auctions, 10 of them sold for a total of $160.11. That’s nearly 100% profit from the sales of just 33% of the items I brought in!

Here are the top-five performers from the group that sold:

5) Mario Lemieux 2011-12 SPx Winning Materials Dual Jersey
Bought for $5.00 | Sold for $11.00
Profit Margin: $6.00 | Percent Return: 120%

 11-12 SPx Winning Materials Lemieux

4) Dominik Hasek 2003-04 Topps Pristine “Uncriculated” Refractor Parallel /59
Bought for $5.00 | Sold for $20.00
Profit Margin: $15.00 | Percent Return: 300%

 

3) Jaromir Jagr 2003-04 Topps Pristine Gold Die-Cut Refractor Parallel /33
Bought for $5.00 | Sold for $26.68
Profit Margin: $21.68 | Percent Return: 433%

 03-04 Topps Pristine Die-Cut Gold Refractor Jagr

2)  Henrik Zetterberg 2003-04 Topps Pristine Gold Die-Cut Refractor Parallel /33
Bought for $5.00 | Sold for $38.88
Profit Margin: $33.88 | Percent Return: 677%

 03-04 Topps Pristine Die-Cut Gold Refractor Zetterberg

1) Dominik Hasek 2003-04 Topps Pristine Gold Die-Cut Refractor Parallel /33
Bought for $5.00 | Sold for $41.05
Profit Margin: $36.05 | Percent Return: 721%

03-04 Topps Pristine Die-Cut Gold Refractor Hasek 

Those five cards alone netted me $112.61 in profit (or a 450% return).  It’s a far cry from the $213.27 in profit (or a 1640.5% return) I got out of my top five performers from the May Expo show, but it is still a successful flip nonetheless!

The Topps Pristine cards were a real find in my books at just $5 a pop and were cards that I was all but certain would provide me with a positive ROI.  As you see above, that was exactly the case.

Digging through box after box and pile after pile of cards has once again proven to be an effective way of limiting the overall financial impact of attending an Expo.

You’ll definitely find me on the hunt for bargains that I can flip again when the Spring Expo takes place from May 3rd to 5th!

###

If you have any examples of very profitable flips of your own then please feel free to share them.  Post a comment, send me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connect with me on Facebook and/or Twitter.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

