Skip to content

Goals and Objectives for 2013

January 3, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

The start of a new year is always an exciting time for me.  I’m the type of person who views the turning of the calendar as a time to review and learn from the successes and failures of the year gone by and to start working towards a refreshed list of ambitions for the coming year.

When it comes to my personal mega-hobby, last year I took the approach of listing five goals and objectives for each of the Collecting, “Business”, and Writing categories that factor into it.

By the midway point of the year I was coming to the realization that this approach was entirely overwhelming, the evidence of which I outlined in my Annual Review Series of posts that finished off 2012 here on the blog. 

Quite simply, I just didn’t have the time to dedicate to my hobby that I had anticipated I would, especially after I began to realize there were many other things I also wanted to be doing with my limited free time. 

Between getting back into racing in and training for triathlons, spending time with my wife, the increased demands of my job, and the work involved in being a homeowner (to name but a few), the time I dedicated to my hobby gradually whittled down to about an hour or two each morning before I headed in to the office.

That is hardly enough to simultaneously attempt to do the work necessary to complete each of the 15 goals and objectives I had set for myself.  

By the end of the year the writing piece was occupying the bulk of my hobby-dedicated time, making it feel as though I was taking steps backwards with the other two (much more critical) elements.

So for 2013 I’ve decided that a major reprioritization is required. 

My ultimate goal is a financially self-sufficient collection, so the logical prioritization of the three elements of my personal mega-hobby is as follows: my collection; my “business” (to fund that collection); and my writing (to chronicle my progress).

Because the writing aspect ended up taking up a disproportionate amount of my time in 2012, there will have to be some major changes in how I approach this blog.  More on that in some upcoming posts.

I have also decided to take a slightly a different approach to my goals and objectives for the year.  Rather than listing out five goals in each of the three categories, this year I’ve come up with the following list of eight priority goals for my mega-hobby as a whole that I’m aiming to achieve:

  1. Remove 750 cards from my want lists.
  2. Complete 25 trades over the course of the year.
  3. Double the number of items listed in my eBay Store.  At the time of posting this article I have 2,072 items listed.  Therefore, I will need to have 4,144 items listed on January 1, 2014 to achieve this goal.
  4. Sell 1,000 items through my eBay Store.
  5. Generate $4,000 in sales revenue.
  6. Surpass the 3,000 mark for my eBay feedback rating.
  7. Rebrand my blog.  The current “brand” does next to nothing to help illustrate its purpose.  This will change in 2013.
  8. Reach 10,000 page views on my blog.

I feel that there a few benefits to taking this approach that should help me realize a little more success in 2013 than I did in 2012.

First, by reducing the total number of objectives that I have set for myself I believe I will have a much better chance of achieving everything I am setting out to do this year. 

These goals are also much more easily measured than the list I created for 2012, something that will be very helpful in keeping myself on track over the course of the year.

Finally, many of the goals are directly tied to one another.  Goal 1 will be aided by the completion of Goal 2.  Achieving Goal 3 should allow me to more easily realize success in goals 4 through 6.  And executing Goal 7 should help push me toward the achievement of Goal 8 more easily than my current, non-descript blog “brand” allows.

Hopefully 2013 will end up being the first year that I am able to achieve my ultimate goal as well.  The progress I made in 2012 gives me a great deal of hope that this could end up being the case, but I know in advance that it’s going to take a great deal of work and dedication to make it happen. 

With a more realistic and manageable list of goals and objectives in place for the coming year though, it just might finally become a reality.

I hope that everyone had a safe and happy holiday season and I look forward to reporting back on my progress on this list of goals and objectives throughout the coming year.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

