Skip to content

Upper Deck National Hockey Card Day Haul

February 10, 2013
UD NHCD

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Yesterday was about as good as you could get for a Canadian hockey fan and collector.

Not only was it the annual Hockey Day in Canada event on CBC, but it was also Upper Deck’s annual National Hockey Card Day (NHCD) in Canada, where free cards are offered up to collectors.

Needless to say I made the most I could of the day’s situation.

I watched my Detroit Red Wings beat the Edmonton Oilers in the afternoon affair before heading over to a friend’s place to take in the Maple Leafs/Canadiens matchup and the first bit of the Flames/Canucks tilt.

All of this exhausting hockey watching came after a couple of card-related outings earlier in the day that I dragged my wife along for so she could get herself some cards too. 

That’s not true…obviously it was so I could get more cards for myself. 

First up was a stop at local Toys R Us that’s up the road from our house were we cashed in on the jumbo cards they were offering with the purchase of any Upper Deck product.  Finding nothing to my liking in terms of blaster boxes, I settled on keeping things as cheap as possible and had each of us pick up a pack of 2012-13 O-Pee-Chee to meet the requirement of getting the jumbo card.

The packs netted a Vernon Fiddler Retro parallel and a Bobby Hull Legends short print and allowed us to take these two jumbo cards home with us:

12-13 UD NHCD Canada Jumbos

Pretty happy to receive those two!

After running a few other errands we then headed to The Ice Box, the local card shop that recently moved back in to the mall that’s just a few block from my house.

There we each picked up the free 5-card packs that Upper Deck was giving away on the day.  I then bought a pack of the 2011-12 Parkhurst Champions product that Upper Deck released last season so that I could secure the bonus Gretzky/Lemieux card that I would need to add to my brother’s Lemieux collection.

The only thing of note from the Champions pack was a mini of Terry O’Reilly (if you can call that “of note”), but I did get the Lemieux base set card from one of the NHCD packs, which eliminates my need to do any chasing for cards from this year’s set.

12-13 UD NHCD Canada Lemieuxs

The remainder of the packs netted the following, including a double of the Crosby card and the one-per-pack checklist:

12-13 UD NHCD Canada Cards

Aside from the pair of cards featuring Lemieux I won’t be planning to keep any of the other cards in my permanent collection. 

If you’re interested in getting any of them from me for your own collection before I get them prepped to be listed in my ebay storethen feel free to get in touch and we’ll see about working out a trade.  You can post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

