Skip to content

Sometimes It Seems Like There Just Aren’t Enough Hours In A Day

February 19, 2013
Clock

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

This past weekend was a holiday long-weekend here in Ontario and despite the fact that I had plenty of free time to get caught up on the backlog of items I have on my hobby-related list, I woke up this morning feeling farther behind than I have in a long time.

Today is my first blog post in more than a week. 

It’s also the first time that I have updated my want list on Sports Card Forum in exactly a month.

I haven’t actively explored making any trades since early in January.

There are piles of cards on my desk waiting to be organized and put away.

There are stacks of sheets filled with cards waiting to be scanned, either to be listed in my ebay store or written about for this blog.

There’s a 3200-count box that’s nearly full of cards that only require a quick update to their old listings in Turbo Lister and they could be on ebay bringing in the revenue I need to achieve my goal of a self-sufficient hobby.

With just an hour or two a day that I can dedicate solely to my hobby it just seems like entirely too much to get through. 

I don’t know where to begin so I don’t even get started.  That, in turn, leads to me getting frustrated at myself for falling further and further behind all that I’d like to get accomplished.

But not that long ago I was doing all of this and more with not much more time to dedicate to my hobby than I currently have available.

Perhaps it’s a question of motivation.  Things seem to go in ebbs and flows for me with this hobby lately, with some times being extremely busy and others being extremely slow.  My motivation for getting things done seems to follow suit, rather than remaining constant through it all and balancing things out.

Perhaps it’s that I’ve lost my focus when it comes to allocating my hobby-focused time.  Other things that I’m doing in my life increasingly seem to be creeping into what used to be my “hobby-only” time or taking the place of the occasional bonus-minutes I used to find to chip away at stuff. 

Regardless of the reasons, there has to be a way to get things back on track. 

Collecting is something I’ve done for the vast majority of my life and the micro-“business” and writing that have become extensions of my hobby interests are things that I remain passionate about.

Getting annoyed at myself for not getting things done and then not getting things done because I feel like I’m too far behind has to stop.

There may not be enough hours in a day to accomplish every last thing I feel like I need to do, but with a little rebalancing there must be away to get there eventually.

We’ll just have to see how it goes.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Image Courtesy Of: beni_bb

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

