Skip to content

ebay Retiring Bucks Reward Program in Canada

February 22, 2013
New ebay Logo

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

My ultra-early morning has allowed me to get caught up on my emails and blog reading.  It has also resulted in the first ever two-posts-in-one-day situation here on the blog (actually, it’s two posts in about an hour).

While looking through my emails I found this message from ebay in my inbox:

Message from ebay re Bucks Program

Needless to say I was completely caught off guard.  It’s not often that a company simply discontinues a customer loyalty program.  Often they just modify it to their benefit, but they still offer some sort of incentive for people to buy from them.

In typical ebay communications fashion they try to tell us that this was a “difficult decision”.  I’m guessing the decision to stop allowing people to get free stuff wasn’t actually difficult at all, since it means more money in the company’s pockets (aka shareholders).

The FAQ page is equally as pathetic in its rationale of why the program is ending, offering no real explanation whatsoever other than that after reviewing the program’s “effectiveness” the decision was made to end it.

So was it ineffective in the that it didn’t draw enough new customers to the site to make it worth their while or was it too effective in that so many people were getting items for free that it was a drain on the company’s profits?

Quite frankly, the program was never all that impressive to me in terms of the return I got from it.  With all the buying I do from the site I don’t think I ever made enough purchases to even reach the $10 mark on a single certificate…and that’s per quarter, not per month! 

So to address their comment, I really can’t say I found it all that “rewarding” and I honestly can’t say that as a buyer I’m even going to notice it’s gone.

As a seller though, I do have some concerns about this announcement.  I realize ebay never had to offer this up to buyers in the first place, but the optics of introducing this program to its users then abruptly ending it entirely just aren’t good. Because of this I’m worried that this may drive people away from ebay itself, meaning its driving them away from my ebay store as well.

What are your thoughts on this move by ebay?  Is the program something you valued or will you even notice that it’s gone?  Will this make you take your collecting dollars elsewhere or will you stick with ebay either way?

Let me know your thoughts by posting a comment, connecting on Facebook and Twitter, or emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

