Skip to content

Mail Day! Masterpieces Master Set Project Progress Report, V.5

February 22, 2013
2008-09 UD Masterpieces Blue Howe

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

My wife’s been getting up before 5am the last couple of days to join the morning rush down to Toronto while she attends a conference.  Since I’m an early riser in the first place it makes it almost impossible to even think about getting back to sleep for what would only be about 20-30 more minutes of sleep.

So here I sit, bleary eyed and knocking back what I’m sure will be the first of many cups of coffee today, hacking out another collection catch-up post.

There’s a few of these to be posted over the next little while and today’s will once again focus on my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces Master Set project, a project I have clearly been having some luck with given that this is the fifth post about it in less than two months.

This time around I’ve got progress to report in a couple of areas of the project.  First up are a pair of the Blue Border /50 cards, each of which features Mr. Hockey, Gordie Howe.

2008-09 UD Masterpieces Blue Hull Howe2008-09 UD Masterpieces Blue Howe

I find it interesting that the card with Bobby Hull clearly identifies each player, but on the second example there is no mention of the second player in the picture, despite the fact that the second player shares the spotlight evenly with Howe in the image.

What’s worse is that even though I’m a lifelong Red Wings fan, I have no idea who that is with him.  Given the size of the glove on his right hand I’m assuming it’s Terry Sawchuk, but I’m not certain.  Can anyone confirm that for me?

In addition to the two Blue Border cards (which push me past the two-thirds mark in terms of completion of that set), I also picked up a pair of Brown Border Canvas Clippings jersey cards recently in the form of Grant Fuhr and Patrick Roy, giving me 60 of the 67 cards from that set.

2008-09 UD Masterpieces Canvas Clippings Fuhr

2008-09 UD Masterpieces Canvas Clippings Roy MTL

The Roy features a maroon swatch of jersey which must have come from a Colorado Avalanche jersey.  Unfortunately, jersey swatches that don’t match team colours are a regular occurrence in Masterpieces and is something I’d like to address once I’ve finished off the set by replacing specific examples of non-matching swatches with copies of the cards that do have a matching swatch, even if it has to be white.

Once again there are more Masterpieces cards on their way to me via some recent ebay purchases, so further updates will follow. 

Until then though, please take a look at my want list and let me know if you have something that I need for this project or any of the others that I’m currently working on.  

You can post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com to get in touch.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

