Skip to content

Retail Review – PressTine Hockey Card Surprise Box

February 27, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Aside from a trio of packs I picked up on Upper Deck’s National Hockey Card Day a few weeks ago, busting packs has been virtually absent from my collecting experience thus far in 2013.

So when the wife and I made a trip to the dollar store a few weeks ago to pick up some party supplies for her niece’s birthday I decided to take a look at what, if anything, the store had to offer.

Sure enough, buried in the area where kids stickers and books are kept and almost hidden to anyone not looking for them, I came across a small selection of packs. 

There were a couple of years worth of recent Score releases, some Panini Stickers and albums, and the obligatory 15-card mixed bag of base set cards, none of which really got me excited.

But then I noticed this on the right side of the store’s little card section space on the rack:

 IMG_0763[1]

I had never seen one of these before, but it immediately reminded me of some of the other mystery pack products I’ve come across over the years, mainly at Wal-Mart.

With a price point of just a toonie, and with a promise of “Original Sealed Packs!”, “Presstine Repacks!” (based on the images on the outside of the box there are ten different options), and “Card Protectors!” (believe it or not I actually find that appealing), I decided to take a chance on one, if only to get a sense of what these things contained so I could know whether or not I should ever buy another one in the future. 

Here’s a look at what I got.

My “Original Sealed Pack” turned out to be a 2008-09 Upper Deck Victory, which actually far exceeded my expectations (I was thinking I’d find something more along the lines of 90-91 Pro Set).  That pack had the following cards for me:

Surprise Box - 08-09 Victory Pack 

There were also three “Presstine Repacks” in the box, the first being an 8-card pack titled “The 90s”.

 Surprise Box - The 90s Pack

Given the recycle-bin-bound quality of the first seven cars, the 1997-98 Donruss Preferred Cut to the Chase of Kevin Hatcher was a very pleasant surprise.

Next up was a repack title “Superstar”, which guaranteed me one superstar card in the five-card pack:

 Surprise Box - Superstar Pack

Thankfully the company’s definition of “Superstar” wasn’t as loose as I feared and I ended up with an Evgeni Malkin 2010-11 Upper Deck Biography of a Season card amongst the group included in this pack.

To finish things off, I had a “Premium Pack”, which apparently would entitle me to $5 in “book value” of cards.

 Surprise Box - Premium Pack

Really nothing to complain about here.  A pair of inserts featuring a Vezina Trophy caliber goalie, a short print rookie card, and a parallel of a short print rookie card.

###

In the end, I have to say that I was pretty happy with what my $2.26 (after taxes) got me.  Obviously these things won’t allow collectors to score a big ebay pay day, but if you’re looking for a little fun these are certainly worth the minimal financial risk based on what I found in this box.

All of the cards you see above are available for trade or sale, so if you’re interested in any of them please feel free to post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2013 8:17 AM

    Those boxes can get addicting–I’ve gotten a few with “game used” jersey cards

    • March 2, 2013 3:10 PM

      I picked up a couple more today while I was out and definitely didn’t have as much luck as with the pack I wrote about. I can see how the jersey cards could make these addictive, but any more like what I got today and my spending on these will be pretty limited!

Trackbacks

  1. Making March a No-Buy Month | the bbbros.ca blog
  2. So Much Making March a No-Buy Month | the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

