Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions

January 5, 2011

New Year’s Resolutions

Many of us like to use the start of a new year as a starting point for new things we would like to accomplish or to take the next step in something we already have underway but have neglected to follow through on.  The typical things like spending more time with family and friends, being more responsible financially, and actually using that gym membership are always at the top of that list for a great many people.

But there are also the resolutions geared towards our specific personal interests.  For me, one of this interests is my hobby of collecting sports cards and memorabilia, and even more specifically, making that hobby financially self-sufficient.

This year more than ever, achieving and then sustaining that goal is of the utmost importance to me.

Having finally paid off everything to do with my wedding from this past summer, my wife and I are now planning to buy our first house within the next few months.  Quite the financial responsibility there wouldn’t you say?  Making the mortgage payments will certainly trump buying yet another box of cards, so I need to dedicate myself to staying the course for the duration of 2011.

During my honeymoon over the holidays I used some of my relaxation time to think over what I need to do in 2011 to get myself closer to reaching my goal and here’s what I pared things down to as my collecting resolutions:

  1. Buy only what I need for my specific projects or what will benefit me financially by flipping items through my eBay store.
  2. List new items in the store every week of the year.  While I don’t have a specific number of items in mind to list each day, week, or month, the important thing is that I recognize that I need to avoid stagnation in my inventory.  I still have plenty of items that I need to get posted, so it is time to prioritize how I spend my time and get down to work.
  3. Get pictures posted in as many of my listings as possible.  Since starting my eBay store, my strategy has basically been ‘list as much as possible as soon as possible’.  That now needs to give way to increasing the quality of my existing listings and ensuring a higher quality for all listings.  While time-consuming and tedious, based on some work I did on this front towards the end of 2010 I know for a fact that my sales will increase, which is an obvious necessity in pursuit of my goal. 
  4. Do not miss a single post on this blog.  I pledged have a new article posted every Wednesday and Sunday and I do not intend to fail myself on that.  As of this post I am 16 for 16 and that includes three article that I made sure would be posted while I was away on my honeymoon over the holidays.
  5. Do not let my hobby, or the pursuit of my goals related to my hobby, interfere with my personal and professional responsibilities.  If that means getting up very early in the morning or working on things during my lunch hours then so be it, so long as I leave myself plenty of time for family, friends, and myself.

There is my basic outline of what I believe will be most important in 2011 in helping improve my odds of reaching my goal of a financially self-sufficient hobby of sports card and memorabilia collecting in 2011.

Whether or not I am successful is entirely up to me.  If I continue on the path that I had tried to follow more closely in the latter half of 2010 then I think I should be able to achieve my goal by the end of the year.  That’s pretty good motivation to keep on top of my resolutions for once in my life!

**********

As I made note of in my introductory article in my Toward Self-Sufficiency Series, goal-setting has been a key element of moving me in the right direction.  The New Year’s resolutions I went over above are over arching goals that I have for the coming year. 

I will reiterate the importance of goal setting on January 16th in the sixth Toward Self-Sufficiency Series and will give some more specific goals that I came up with for my “business” in 2011, but first I’ve got a post for you on Sunday about how I am using some cost-effective and easy marketing tools and methods to help move myself ever-closer to a financially self-sufficient involvement in the hobby.  

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

