Skip to content

What’s More Important to an eBay Store: Quantity of Listings or the Inclusion of Photos?

April 10, 2011

The other day I posed a question to fellow collectors and eBay sellers on Twitter about which they thought would be of more benefit to my eBay store as I continue to look for ways to increase my sales volumes: more listings or adding images to the listings I currently have?

The reason that I asked the question is that at the beginning of the year I outlined a few goals for 2011 which included goals that thus far have been causing something of a conflict in the limited amount of time I allow myself to work on my hobby.

The specific items that have caused this conflict are having my listings account for 1% of the total number of items listed on eBay.ca and ensuring that every single one of those listings includes a photo of the card.  The achievement of each of these goals is critical to my ability to achieve a third goal for 2011 of increasing sales through my eBay Store by 10%.

I reviewed the progress I had made toward achieving those two goals, along with a host of others back in my March Month-End Business Update and came to the conclusion that I had really made very little progress on either of the two.  Having completed that review of my progress and coming to the realization that I was not making the sort of inroads that I had intended to by this point in the year I decided that April would be a pretty heavy month of work to get caught up.

As soon as I tried to get started though, the question of which is more important in allowing me to increase sales kept popping in to my head.

On one hand, having a large inventory for customers to select from is crucial and getting to 1% of all listings in eBay.ca’s Hockey Card category would be relatively easy given the amount of cards I still need to list.  The catch, however is that it would only be easy to achieve in the short-term if I posted the listings as quickly as possible, and with a very limited amount of time in which to do work on my hobby, that means not including images.

On the other hand, everywhere I look, I read that one of the most important things to include to improve the chances of selling an item is a picture of that item.  With roughly 4,000 cards listed in my store, and only about one-third of them currently including a photo, I know that the bulk of my listings are not to the level of quality that I need them to be in order to have the best chance to sell them.

After posing the question on Twitter, the feedback I received was that the images issue should be the first thing that I address, so as of right now I am going the route of adding photos to my current listings.  By the end of tonight I will likely have added photos to a few hundred Rookie Card listings in my store.  That process has taken nearly an entire week of scanning, filing, and uploading, and has shown me just what an incredible amount of work I have ahead of myself.

Still, the question keeps nagging at me.  Should I be focussing my efforts on the photos end of things or get the listing level up to the 1% goal and start adding photos then.

So my question to you is: which do you think I should be doing? Photos for each of my existing listings, or list more items and worry about the photos later?

Let me know by posting a comment with this article, or by getting in touch on Twitter (@bb_bros), Facebook, or by e-mail at bb_bros[at]hotmail[dot]com.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

