Skip to content

Random Thoughts on a Soggy Sunday

April 17, 2011

With a mix of wind, sleet, rain, and snow going on outside today, the weather in these parts is looking more like it should in late-November rather than what I was hoping mid-April might be.  That has turned in to a day of watching the Blue Jays and continuing with my never-ending project of chipping at organizing my cards, which I really cannot complain about.

This article was intended to cover a specific topic, but I realized early in the week that I was ill-prepared to write about it, so instead it’s turned in to a bit of a brain-dump of things I have had going on lately related to my collecting and eBay Store.

April is (Nearly) Zero Purchase Month
First off, I decided late in March that I was going to try to avoid spending any money on eBay in April.  While I was making some pretty decent progress on a couple of my projects, particularly my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces project, I was simply spending more than I was bringing in and that goes against my overarching goal of creating a financially self-sufficient hobby.

What made this decision that much easier to make was the fact that the semi-annual Toronto Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo is taking Place from April 29 – May 1.  Not only do I want to save my money for the show, but my wife’s birthday also happens to fall on the same day the show opens.  Since I plan on spending the Saturday with her as well, the only day I can go to the show is May 1, meaning I can try to go an entire month without spending any (more) money on cards.

I have had one minor slip-up thus far by purchasing a couple of blaster boxes, but that was done in order to have a box break post appear on this blog sometime soon.  That’s how I am justifying it at least!  Other than that I have successfully avoided buying anything from my local card shop or on eBay, so I’m pretty happy with myself thus far.

One Thing at a Time
Secondly, I have come to the realization that if I am going to make any progress on achieving my goals for the year, I am going to have to take a different approach than I had been up until very recently.  With all of the chaos involved in searching for, buying, and moving in to our new house, a number of things related to my hobby have been piling up.  I have tried my best to chip away at every single thing a little bit over the past seven weeks, but I constantly feel like I am getting absolutely nowhere.

So, with my frustration mounting, I decided that I was going to prioritize the list and get through one thing at a time as opposed to trying to do a little bit of everything.

Scanning, Scanning, and Scanning Some More
The first thing I am looking to achieve as I approach things one at a time is to get a picture posted to every single one of my current eBay listings.  Since last week’s article asking whether listing more items or adding pictures to existing listings would
be more beneficial to me as I look to increase sales, no fewer than 60% of the cards I sold this week included an image despite the fact that my best estimates tell me that only 33% of all my listings currently include a photo.

That’s some pretty convincing stuff right there.

So for the foreseeable future, I am going to be spending a lot of my hobby-devoted time attached to my scanner and subsequently updating my listings.  This situation makes me awfully thankful for a tool like eBay’s Turbo Lister, as I can add and upload the photos in batches as opposed to doing so individually through the eBay website.

So far I have been able to include images in every single Autograph, Game Used, PromoRookie Card, Show Redemption, and Team Issue listing, and should be able to have all Short Print listings with a photo within the next 36 hours.  That leaves a couple of categories with a small number of cards to scan, and one massive project to get through, that being the Inserts/Parallels group of cards.

While that task is daunting, the progress I have made in the last ten days or so is not only encouraging, but also motivating, so I am confident I can get through this task in relatively short order.

Find New Topics
A major benefit of doing all this scanning – outside of the potential or increasing my sales in my eBay Store – has been that fact that I have come across a number of cards that have become the topic for upcoming blog articles, mainly related to the photography included on them.

If things continue to go the way they have thus far, my From the World of Why topic bank will be bursting at the seams by the time every card has been scanned!

*****

That’s about all I have got for you today.  I’d like to thank Jeremy at A Cardboard Life for adding me to his blog roll recently, the support is much appreciated.  Establishing a blog roll of my own here is a priority moving forward as I look to connect with and help support my fellow sports card and memorabilia bloggers.  If you’ve one of those people, please get in touch so I can add you to the list for when I add it.

As always, I welcome you to get in touch by posting a comment in an article, connecting on Twitter (@bb_bros) or Facebook, or by e-mailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

