Skip to content

Steal of a Deal: 2006-07 Artifacts Joe Thornton Bronze Parallel /25

April 20, 2011

Another Steal of a Deal post is making an appearance today, and once again the player being discussed is none other than Joe Thornton, who I also featured in my most recent my last Steal of a Deal post just over a month ago.

This steal caused me something of a unique circumstance in that the card was needed in two separate collecting projects I currently have in progress.  For those who have followed along with my monthly Project Progress Reports, you know that I collect anything and everything featuring Joe Thornton.  You also know that I am working on the likely unachievable 2006-07 Upper Deck Artifacts Bronze parallel set, a full 225 card set that is limited to just twenty-five serial numbered copies of each.

Back in February I saw the base set version of the Thornton card in my daily e-mail alert from eBay with a starting bid of just $0.99, so I immediately put in a bid.  Since the card has just the twenty-five copies and I needed one for each of the two projects I mentioned above I would need to own close to ten per-cent of the entire production run.  Due to this unique circumstance, I put in a bid much higher that I usually would for a card from this set, knowing that it could be quite some time before I would see another appear for sale.

Much to my surprise, the seven days went by and not a single other bid was entered!  I was up one very limited parallel card for less than $5.00 including the cost of shipping!

Unlike my last Steal of a Deal, I really cannot put a finger on any specific issue with the listing that might have led to such a low price on the purchase.  The seller had a perfect feedback rating, the title and description clearly articulated what it was that I was bidding on, and the picture did exactly what it is meant to in supporting the verbiage of the listing.

In the end, I guess I was just very fortunate that no other Thornton collectors came across the card in the week it was listed.

The only issue that the purchase caused me was trying to figure out which project I would add the card to; my already huge Thornton-specific collection, or the Artifacts project that I am only a quarter of the way finished.

On the one hand, it was a rare card to add to my Thornton collection, which I am pleased to say gets larger and of higher quality every month. This card would only serve to continue with its improvement.

On the other hand, it would put me one step closer to completing a project that I know is going to be extremely difficult to finish under even the best of circumstances.

Ultimately, my Thornton collection is of much more importance and value to me than the Artifacts project, so the card went to where it really ought to be.  That is not to minimize my pursuit of the Artifacts set, but in the bigger picture I feel like the Thornton collection is something to be much more impressed with and proud of, so that’s exactly what I did.

Have you had any steals of your own lately?  If so, please share your finds by posting a comment, sending an e-mail to bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting via Twitter (@bb_bros) or Facebook!

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

