Skip to content

My First Sunday Expo Experience

May 1, 2011

As most hockey card and memorabilia collectors are well aware, this weekend is the Spring edition of the semi-annual Toronto Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo.  I’m actually leaving very shortly to head down to the show, which will mark a couple of firsts for me when it comes to the Expo, but wanted to ensure my regular Sunday post was up before I get home to sort through my haul.

The show actually started back on Friday and that is the day I would normally attend.  It has always been my preferred date to head down to the show since the selection is at its best on the Friday night, with only those in the building having had the chance to pick over any of the dealers’ inventories before I get a chance to do the same myself.

This year, however, the opening Friday night just happened to fall on the same date as my wife’s birthday.  Needless to say, I was not going to be attending on the Friday this year!  Her birthday festivities also carried on in to the Saturday this year as well with family dinners and the like, so Sunday turned in to my only option.

Obviously I was well aware of this situation well in advance of the show, so I did some digging around through Twitter (I’m @bb_bros for those who would like to connect) and blogs of other collectors to see if the Sunday was worth attending.

The response was a resounding “yes”.

While the selection is certainly likely to be picked over, I am told that Sunday offers the best opportunity to score some major steals as dealers are looking to either ensure they at least break even financially or are looking to lighten the load they will return to their homes and/or shops with once things wrap up.

One major downfall sounds to be that some dealers close up shop for the weekend much earlier than the time advertised by the show’s management.  Apparently that goes against what the management expects of the dealers, but not surprisingly, not all follow those instructions.

Either way, I am excited to hit the road and see what is in store for me today.  If things end early, then so be it.  Not spending my entire budget today is not necessarily a bad thing.

The second “first” this show will involve for me is that this is the first time I will have attended it alone.  A normal show experience for me involves attending with my dad, and sometimes with my brother as well.  Because of the unavoidable scheduling conflict on my end, my dad opted to take the Friday night rather than join me today so that he could ensure he still had the best opportunity to track down cards rather than going through the scrap heap like I am going to have to do.

I certainly cannot fault him for taking that approach, and a quick call with him last night tells me that he made the right decision since it sounds as though he was able to find quite a bit of stuff for our player collections that we might not otherwise have found had we only attended today.

So with that said, it’s time for me to hit the road and pay him a visit before I head to the International Centre for the 10 o’clock opening of the doors.  I want to be sure that I get there early, to maximize the worthwhile time I have at the show, and plan to scoop up a few boxes right off the bat.  Then it will be scouring for deals for the rest of the day for me.

I will be posting to Twitter and Facebook as regularly as I can for those who care to follow along, although that was my intention back in the fall as well, and that plan fell by the wayside rather quickly as I became sufficiently distracted by all of the collecting goodness that surrounded me.

Did you go to the show this year?  If so, what were your thoughts?  Let me know what you think by posting a comment,
sending me an e-mail at bb_bros@hotmail.com or by sending me a message on Facebook or Twitter.

Until Wednesday’s review of the show, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

