Skip to content

From the World of “Why?” – Photographic Follies Edition

May 18, 2011

02-03 Be A Player First Edition Martin Brodeur Up Close and Personal Subset

One of the major projects that has arisen out of my (not so) recent move in to my first house is the necessity to organize box upon box of cards in an effort to get things tidied up, organized, and find anything that ought to be destined for the listing in the store.

The process has been a slow one as most of my efforts have been focused on adding images to my existing eBay Store listings and ensuring that I stay on top of this blog (54 articles without missing deadline after today’s post!).

Every now and then I need a break from the monotony that is scanning cards and subsequently updating the respective listing for each though, so I open up a box of previously neglected cards and start sorting.

The exercise has been beneficial in building sets, tracking down short prints, and finding rookie cards and inserts that I had essentially misplaced that can all now be listed in my eBay Store.

An additional – and entirely unexpected – benefit of the process has included finding a plethora of material for articles to be posted in this blog.  From bizarre photo choices to inexplicable insert and subset themes, the topic choices have been expanding with every box that I go through.

As a result, you will see some subcategories introduced into my From the World of Why series, starting with today’s first-ever Photographic Follies article featuring Martin Brodeur’s 2002-03 Be A Player First Edition Up Close and Personal Subset Card.

This is one of those photos that makes you ask the question: ‘Is this really the best option the company had available for this card?’

When I came across this card I nearly burst out laughing.  I get that the idea was to have a close up shot of some of the game’s more popular players, but I find it hard to believe this photo was the only/best option available to In the Game at the time the cards were printed.

First of all, even the most amateur of photographers (i.e. me) would automatically hit the “delete” button if their photo caught a person in the midst of speaking.  Not only did that not happen in this instance, but the photo caught Brodeur looking simultaneously confused and slack-jawed, making things all that much worse.

The look of confusion on Brodeur’s face is actually pretty amusing to me.  I imagine that it must have something to do with the fact that In the Game managed to find a photo of him sitting on the bench, a place that he was rarely ever found at this point in his career.  I can picture him asking the photographer “What am I doing here?” when this gem was snapped.

Other cards featuring goalies in this subset show them pictured fully masked, so I am not sure why the same was not done for Brodeur I am sure that In the Game would agree in hindsight that they should have gone with that option here, or at the very least used a photo that is a bit more flattering to the player.

If you have any examples of Photographic Follies that you would like to pass along please feel free, this is definitely a topic that I look forward to writing about more often on this blog.  Leave a comment, send me an e-mail (bb_bros@hotmail.com), or connect on Facebook or Twitter.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

