Skip to content

Happy Birthday to Me!

June 1, 2011

As I am sure you can gather from the title of this article, today is my birthday.

Despite what the title and topic of today’s post may lead you to believe, I am not usually one to go out of my way to point out that it is my birthday.

In fact, if my birthday and a scheduled post on this blog didn’t happen to fall on the same date I doubt I would have made much more than a passing mention of it in a future article since I generally do not consider it to be any different from any other day of my life.

Today has actually been a pretty good birthday for me collection wise (partly by design, partly not), and since this scheduled blog post and my “big” day just happen to coincide this year, I figured that an article with my birthday as the theme only made sense.

First, on the ‘by design’ end of things, I figured that today was as good a day as any to treat myself to a little collection-related present.  Not only that, but I figure it will help me deal with the feelings of withdrawal I have been noticing lately after going two full months without so much as placing a bid on an item on eBay.

So first thing this morning, I went ahead and bought myself a couple of little presents:

 

The Yzerman Black Diamond card I already had, but when I was getting it and a jersey card that I do need for less than I can find the jersey card for on its own, I figured it was a good deal.  Plus, the seller was offering free shipping!  As for the Lidstrom, I wish I could find more cards from this set for the measly $2.99 this one cost me.  A great find from my perspective, and now two less cards to chase now!

Secondly, I need to take this opportunity to thank a Twitter follower for inadvertently sending me a second card-related gift that arrived just in time for my birthday.

A couple of weeks ago I sent out a message asking anyone if they had a handful of 2008-09 Black Diamond singles that I needed after opening the Blister Pack Box that I bought at the Toronto Spring Expo.

Much to my surprise I got a message back a couple of days later offering up the cards I needed and best of all, the sender was asking for nothing in return!

Lo and behold, the package arrived in my mailbox no more than 36 hours before my birthday, so I held off on opening it until this morning.

Again, it’s nothing huge in terms of an addition to the collection, but I really appreciate that a fellow collector would go out of his way to help me out.  He allowed me to finish off a set that I otherwise would have ignored and the timing of this gift’s arrival could not have worked out any better.

So to Craig (aka @skelscardclozzt), I would like to say thanks for birthday present, even though you didn’t realize it was going to end up as one!

*****

Do you have a good birthday collecting story of your own?  Feel free to share it with me any time you like.  You can reach me by e-mail at bb_bros@hotmail.com, on Twitter (@bb_bros) or Facebook, or by just posting a comment in an article.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

