Skip to content

Persistence, Adaptation, and Inspiration

June 12, 2011

I had been putting off posting today’s article from pretty much the moment I woke up this morning.

The article I had been prepared to post at the crack of dawn today simply did not measure up to what I have been trying to do with these Sunday Self-Sufficiency Update articles here on my blog.

The tone was overly negative and despite having done numerous hours of research and composition the finished product never quite felt complete.

So instead of following the original plan of attack for the day I decided to take a step back, shelved the idea of the post I had already written (I can always get to it another time), and opted instead to type out a string of thoughts related to my hobby and my “business” that have been brewing in my head all week.

The end result is an abbreviated (compared to most of my writing at least) smattering of things that I have been thinking about a lot over the past week.  As the title of the article would suggest, they break down into three topics: persistence, adaptation, and inspiration.

Persistence
This applies to my aggressive scanning project that has involved working my way through literally thousands of cards that are currently listed in my eBay Store, but do not yet have an image included.

It is an arduous, mundane, and tedious task to put myself through on an almost daily basis.

The good news though, is that the hard work is truly starting to pay off.

For the first time in more than 29 months of operating my eBay Store, I generated enough sales in the first six days of the month to cover my average expenses for the entire month.

I don’t know exactly what the average number of days that it usually takes me to reach this mark is, but I do know that it is nowhere near six days and that I have never generated

Given my minimal buying over the past few months, June is all but certain to be a success from the self-sufficiency standpoint and will provide me with a healthy chunk of change to put into my collection over the next little while.

My persistence in front of the computer and scanner has proven to be well worth the effort.

Adaptation
Specifically as a result of a number of things that have gone somewhat awry on the shipping end of things over the past seven days, the time for adaptation in that portion of my “business” has arrived.

Next Sunday I will be posting an article that clearly articulate why I charge what I do for my shipping fees.  I will also lay the ground work for a completely revamped pricing structure and shipping policies that will roll out in the coming weeks.

In short, I am adapting to both a changing landscape from a financial sense, while also making some changes related to the feedback I receive from my customers.

I think these changes will not only benefit my customers in the big picture, but they will also ensure that I am better positioned to meet their expectations while simultaneously allowing me to avoid any negative financial impacts associated with efficient operation of that aspect of my “business”.

Inspiration
Finally, I have been feeling very inspired over the last two weeks or so, in large part because of a book that I just finished reading.

I won’t go in to any details of the book today since I want to cover it and how it applies to my hobby and my “business” in an article of its own, but in short the message is that you can get exactly what you want if you are willing to do everything that is necessary to get yourself to get to that place.

Every now and then I need a swift kick in the rear to get myself back in line with or stay motivated about what I want to achieve and this book provided exactly that.

I have a feeling this is going to be a good week when it comes to chasing down some of the hobby-related goals I have set for myself in 2011.

*****

As always, please feel free to get in touch at anytime about anything.  Post a comment, e-mail me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connect on Facebook and Twitter.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

