Skip to content

Your Opinions Needed: Opening Myself Up to Other Options

July 24, 2011

Given the dilemma I have been facing with my eBay Store over the past three weeks and the lengthy amount of time it looks as though it will take for my “business” to return to normal, I have been putting some thought into how I might be able to supplement my eBay “business” with other sales avenues online.

The problem I am running in to is that there seems to be a pretty significant number of outlets through which to test this out, but I am so completely unfamiliar with them that I am hesitant as to which route I should go.

Here’s a few of the places I have either stumbled across, read about, or visited in my search for ways to expand the reach of my “business” and not be so completely reliant on eBay to generate the income needed to achieve my goal of a financially self-sufficient hobby:

  • Check Out My Cards
  • Sports Card Market Place
  • Blowout Cards
  • Sports Card Forum
  • Kijiji
  • Craigslist

I am also considering adding a store to my existing website, which I have discovered is offered at a surprisingly affordable rate by my hosting provider and offers much of the flexibility and detail that eBay provides.

My biggest concern about any of these options, however, is that the traffic needed to supplement my eBay sales simply won’t be there and I will end up investing a considerable amount of time, money, and effort in something that does not produce the needed results.

So my question to you is which option(s) do you suggest I try out?

Where do I have the best chance at success with the most affordable investment both in terms of money and time?

Are there options outside of those listed above that you think I need to consider?

Let me know by posting a comment, emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting on Twitter and Facebook.

Also, please feel free to subscribe to my blog either by email (just click the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column) or by RSS feed for the latest post to be delivered directly to you every Wednesday and Sunday.

Until Wednesday’s Project Progress Report for July (complete with actual progress to report!), all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

