Skip to content

Rounding Out the Personal Milestones of the Summer of 2011

August 21, 2011

With today’s article included, I have made a number of posts here at the bbbros.ca blog that have discussed anniversaries or milestones of major events that took place over the course of the summer.

Last summer was easily one of the most hectic and stressful of my life.  From the sudden loss of a family companion, to the start of a new chapter in my career, and the modest celebration of getting yet another year older, all were discussed.

And those things listed above weren’t even the biggest of the occurrences to take place thus far.  The biggest milestone for me to recognize this summer is also the biggest of my life thus far and it took place exactly a year ago today; my wedding day.

I know this is another post that is of a much more personal nature than it is hobby related, but it’s a big day for me, so you’ll have to deal with it.  I’m keeping it short anyway.

Given how prominent of a role my hobby plays in my life, it has been and continues to be a regular topic of discussion throughout our relationship and now through a full year of marriage.  Through all the collecting, “business”, and writing related aspects of my hobby, my wife has been supportive of it since day-one, so long as I keep the amount of time I spend on the various aspects of it to a level that doesn’t interfere with our relationship and my other, more important responsibilities.

She may join in with some of my friends to poke fun at a hobby that many would consider to better suited to a person one-quarter my age from time to time, but when it’s time for joke about her own hobbies she takes them just as well as she gives them.

She may not have any idea what I’m talking about when I go on a rant about eBay, a card manufacturer, a negative buying experience, or a troublesome customer, but she lets me vent about it all the same and is quick to lend a reassuring word when things are at their most frustrating.

She may not always understand my excitement when I come across a great pull in a pack, but when I do she’s excited with and for me anyways.

She may not care one iota about the subject matter of this blog, but she encourages me to continue to write about it because she knows that it is important to me.

These are just some small examples related from a very specific part of my life of what she does each and every day that makes me more than grateful that I have her in my life.

Married life has been great in this first year and here’s to many more great years to come!

Ryan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

