Skip to content

From the World of “Why?”: Calamity on Cardboard Edition

August 24, 2011

1991-92 Arena Holograms Inc. – A Tuxedo Exclusive Edition Pat Falloon

In today’s latest edition of my From the World of “Why?” series, I am pleased to introduce my first Calamity on Cardboard article!

Trying to find a nice bit of alliteration to define these various sub-series seems to be more difficult than finding cards to actually base the articles upon.

Since I couldn’t think of a good synonym for “cardboard” that started with the letter “d”, calamity subs-in nicely for disaster for the latest addition to the From the World of “Why?”fold.

Today’s first Calamity on Cardboard comes to us courtesy of a company that I had never heard of prior to discovering this beauty recently while organizing a batch of cards that I inherited from a family member a while back.

Produced in the era in which anyone with a printing press apparently had the ability to create a set of cards, this set screamed for a feature in this series of articles from the second I found it.

Generally speaking, any hockey card featuring a player not actually playing hockey is not going to win me over very easily.  Making an athlete wear a tuxedo while feigning some attempt at playing any sport makes me want to turn the card into kindling.

Clearly, my rather blunt assessment of this card is that I think it is an absolute debacle.  No matter how dapper a tux can make a man look, Falloon looks absolutely foolish stick handling toward the camera in one.

The look on his face tells me that he knows it too.

With a very small amount of research I discovered that it wasn’t just one poor kid who is stuck trying to make playing in a hockey in a tux seem reasonable is to discover that make an entire set of the bloody cards!

How this concept for a card set ever managed to get beyond the drawing board, to actual execution defies explanation.

I honestly feel terrible for anyone unfortunately to have been featured in this set.  If I were one of them, my agent would have been fired the second I saw the finished product.

Unfortunately for Pat Falloon, his is the only card I came across in my organizing, so he becomes the sacrificial lamb for my article today.

At some point in these articles I usually like to try to suggest a more positive solution to the cards that I am featuring.

I have no answer for this set.  Beyond stating the obvious by saying that hindsight is 20/20 and this set never should have seen the light of day, I don’t think there is an answer.

Since I cannot come up with a less than obvious solution of my own I would like to know if you have one of your own.  Is my assessment off the mark or was this the waste or time that I seem to think it is?

You can also feel free to send me any examples you have of Calamity on Cardboard.  I am always interested in seeing what other disasters are out there!

Get in touch by leaving a comment in an article, emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, of connecting on Facebook and Twitter.

Also remember to subscribe to the bbbros.ca blog by clicking the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column or subscribing via the RSS feed.

Until Sunday’s Month-End “Business” Update, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

