Skip to content

I Need Your Website Hosting Advice…and Soon!

September 4, 2011

It’s Labour Day weekend and things are very busy for me right now, so today’s post is going to be a fairly short one.

In about three weeks time my hosting subscription for my website comes up for renewal and I am not entirely sure of what I should do.  I am currently using the Website Tonight program offered by godaddy.com for designing my page, which comes with hosting included.

To be perfectly honest my website has yet to come even close to what I would one day like it to be, but for the most part it has achieved some of the basic things I was looking to get out of it.

Website Tonight is fairly easy to use to start off and I can make updates relatively simply, but it also feels very restrictive at times in terms of what I can and cannot do (i.e. having to set up this blog on wordpress.com because I would have had to pay to add a blog through Website Tonight).  As a result, I am wondering if there is a better option out there than what I am currently using.

From a position of very limited experience and knowledge, as best I can tell my options are basically as follows (though I am likely wrong on this):

  1. Keep with the same set up I currently have, with a website and blog that are technically separate, but both achieving the basics of what I want of them.
  2. Cancel Website Tonight, find a new hosting option and a new design program option, and combine my blog and website into the only web presence I have, eliminating any confusion from visitor and duplication of efforts on my part.
  3. Cancel Website Tonight and figure out how to make my domain name automatically redirect to my blog, also eliminating any confusion or duplication of efforts.

My questions to you today are these:

What do you think I should do?

What are my options aside from the handful I identified above?

What service do you use for your blog and/or hosting needs and would you recommend it to me?

Let me know your thoughts on my situation by posting a comment, emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting on Facebook and Twitter.

I look forward to hearing your tips, advice, and suggestions.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JRPittman permalink
    November 16, 2011 10:54 PM

    Hi, Ryan – came across your blog trying to find the answer to the same question for a client. What to do with Website Tonight, if my client wants a blog added on? I’m still looking at options for her, but I’m pretty sure already that I’m going to recommend another hosting provider. Personal favorite is Lunarpages.com – I’ve used them for three years and several of my clients have used them with few, if any issues along the way. They have lots of packages for pretty much any budget.

    Hope this advice comes soon enough, and that it helps!

    Regards,
    Jahnelle

Trackbacks

  1. Visitor Traffic Counters For Your Website or Blog – voodooDr's Blog

Leave a Reply

