Skip to content

Ready to Give Trading Another Try…But Where?

September 11, 2011

When I first started using the internet as a tool to add cards to my collection more than a decade ago, I cast my net wide in terms of where and how I found cards.

eBay was the first site I used to add to my collection, but since I wasn’t selling at the time, I had thousands of unwanted cards sitting in boxes, and was working with a very limited spending budget as I was in high school at the time, I decided to give trading a try too.

I created accounts on a number of online sports card websites and forums and got to work moving unwanted items for cards I wanted to add to my specific collecting projects.

Trading played a regular role in my hobby experience for a number of years and for the most part I really enjoyed the process.  The searching, the negotiating, the mail days.  The entire process kept me entertained and kept my collecting projects moving in the right direction.

Over time my interest in trading started to wane though.  While I can relate to some of the reasons for avoiding trading that were identified in an article posted on the blog The Wax Buster back in June, the reason I gave up trading boiled down to a simple thing that I simply did not have enough of: time.

After finishing university and entering the working world, free time that I could dedicate to my hobby became more and more scarce.  I tried my best to maintain a presence on the trading message boards, but gradually came to the realization that I simply could not dedicate enough time to go through the process in the right way.

For as much as I enjoyed the online trading process it is one that requires a great deal of time in order to complete a transaction and finding that time while spending upwards of twelve hours of day on a train and in the office was next to impossible.

Eventually, I just stopped visiting the trading forum websites altogether and have not thought much about trading since completing my last deal in November of 2009.

Things have changed over the past year though.

I have more free time that I’ve had in years, have a better organized collection and inventory of cards I’d like to move out than I have ever had before, and seem to be coming across more and more fellow bloggers and collectors who make trading a regular part of their hobby routines.

With all of this being the case, I feel as though it is time to throw my hat back in the ring when it comes to trading and give it another shot.   Trading is a fairly good way of limiting the impact to my personal finances as I pursue a financially self-sufficient hobby afterall!

The problem is, I really don’t know where to start.

A lot can change in two years and given a lot of what I read in other sports card and collectible blogs, some the sites I used in the past do not sound as though they are a popular destination for trading any more, while some simply no longer exist at all.

So my question to you today is where should I start?  What websites should I be looking in to?  Should I cast my net wide again and use a number of different sites or should I find one that I am comfortable with and stick to it alone?

Send me your thoughts on where I should consider re-entering the world of trading.  Post a comment, send me an e-mail at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connect with me on Facebook and Twitter.

Don’t forget to sign up to receive automatic updates whenever I post a new article here at the bbbros.ca blog every Wednesday and Sunday too.  Just click the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column or subscribe via my RSS feed.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2011 9:00 PM

    Having a want list and for trade list on your site is a good way to help initiate trades. I know I often trade many cards not listed on my for trade and certainly trade for cards that aren’t on my want list. I find these lists are a good starting point and you can often find a small circle of collectors that you prefer to trade with or meet someone new out of the blue.

Trackbacks

  1. Talking Trades – Back in the Game! « the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

