Skip to content

Shameless Self-Promotion: 2nd Annual October Auction Series

October 2, 2011

Sunday posts here at the bbbros.ca blog are generally reserved for “Self-Sufficiency Updates”.  I use these posts to discuss some element of the “business” side of my hobby, typically relating in some way to my eBay Store and how I am using it as a tool to pursue my goal of having a hobby that is 100% financially self-sufficient.

Rarely, however, do I use these posts to blatantly promote any specific items or sales that I currently have going on in my eBay Store.

Today is different though, since that will be about the only thing I am doing in this post.

The reason for today’s bout of shameless self-promotion is that for the second year in a row I am going to be running my “October Auction Series”.

I got things started last night with five listings and will continue posting a minimum of five items on the auction block each and every night for the duration of the month.  All of this is being done in an effort to drum up some money to put into my collecting projects, mainly at the Toronto Fall Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo coming up in November.

The idea for the “October Auction Series” came about last September when I was considering how much money I would have to spend at the Expo.  As I planned my budget for the show I realized that for a number of years in a row I found myself scrambling in late October to generate some additional funds to spend by posting a boatload of auctions and hoping for the best.

I decided to try to avoid the last-second push for extra money and the stress that comes with simply hoping for the best by using the entire month of October as my sales window as opposed to using just a handful of days late in the month and the results were extremely positive.

With hockey season starting up at right around this time and buyers of hockey cards and collectibles spending regularly again (at least that’s what I’ve noticed with my Store), I see October is an optimal time to run these auctions.

I do not often use eBay auctions as a means of making sales any more, but I do find that they are a great way to move items out on a tight timeline and generate some quick cash in the process and this month is a prime example of why and when they are necessary for me in my pursuit of a financially self-sufficient hobby.  So stay tuned for new item listings every night this month, the last of which will be wrapping up on November 7th; just in time for me to head down to Toronto for the show!

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

 

Leave a Reply

