Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

October 9, 2011

It’s the Thanksgiving Holiday weekend here in Canada, and it just happens to be one of my favourite times of the year.

Another hectic summer (albeit the least hectic in recent memory) is behind me, the NHL hockey season has just started up, the Toronto Fall Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo is just over a month away, and for the second year in a row I am running my October Auction Series through my eBay Store, which I must say seems has given me a renewed sense of motivation when it comes to pursuing my goal of a self-sufficient hobby.

It’s also a time of year that we tend to look back on things we are thankful for and I am no different in that regard.  Given the number of elements and extensions that my hobby has grown to include, it has become a very major part of my day to day life.

While there is plenty of stuff in my life to be thankful for outside of my hobby, here’s a look at some of the things that sprang to mind this year when I thought about what I am thankful for in relation to it and its role in my daily routine.

I’m thankful that I am married to someone who, while she may not totally understand my obsession with this hobby, is (almost) always completely accepting and supportive of my hobby and all of the other activities that I have incorporated into it, such as this blog and my eBay store.  On the rare occasion that she’s not 100% supportive of something I am pursuing as a part of my hobby, she’s usually right about it anyways, and I’m thankful for the fact that I have someone in my life who is not afraid to set me straight when my imagination wants to go beyond what’s reasonable!

I’m thankful that many of my collecting experiences are shared with a father who is as interested in collecting sports cards and memorabilia as I am, if not more so.  The reality is, without him I may not even be collecting in the first place.  He is the one who bought my brother and I our first packs of cards, he is the one who took me to my first card show, he is the one who for years on end funded “my” collection entirely, and more than 20 years later he is still the one who takes the time to ensure that want and need lists are up to date and accurate, especially when it comes to the player-specific collecting projects.  Any time I use the word “my” to describe something about this hobby it really ought to be replaced with “our” as this is truly a joint effort.

I’m thankful that I have a brother with whom I have been able to share this hobby with as well (the other person behind B-B Bros. Sports Collectibles).  Despite the fact that other interests and geographical separation have caused him to only be involved in the hobby at an arm’s length at this point, for many years we shared in it very closely.  While it’s often identified as a part of “my” collecting projects, the Mario Lemieux collection is and always will be his, even if he doesn’t realize my dad and I are adding to it while he is pursuing other things.  He still maintains an interest in how our collection is progressing and I hope that one day we will be able to closely share more aspects of the hobby once again.

I’m thankful for having a mother who, much like my wife, may not always understand my passion for this hobby, but has always recognized that it was important to me and encouraged me to pursue it further.  She also put up with having countless boxes of cards strewn about her home, converted a room in the house that I grew up in for me to use solely for my hobby, and has been a positive voice on the development of the “business” side of my hobby since I first started trying to sell off unwanted/needed parts of my collection.

Finally, I’m thankful for all of my fellow collectors who I share a passion for this hobby with.  Whether it’s someone who has bought cards from me on eBay, someone who has made a trade with me, someone who has sold me an item that has helped build my collection, or someone who writes a blog of their own to share their collecting experiences, the connections I’ve made with other people who share a passion for this hobby similar to my own, no matter how small or impersonal they may have been, are always rewarding.

*****

What are you thankful for when it comes to your own hobby experiences?

Let me know by posting a comment, emailing bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting with me on Facebook and Twitter.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits and to my fellow Canadians, have a safe and happy Thanksgiving weekend!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

