Skip to content

October Month-End “Business” Update

October 30, 2011

Another month has come and gone and with it some pretty significant productivity related to the “business” side of my hobby.

Over the course of the month I came to fully realise that having a manageable routine complete with realistic goals and expectations is the best approach for me to take in continuing to build my “business” and move closer to a financially self-sufficient hobby.

Slowly chipping away at a number of projects at the same time seems to be much more useful than trying to sledgehammer out an entire project all at once before moving on to the next one.

The result is that I have almost completely caught up on my bookkeeping after months of neglect, I am within just a few weeks of having scans complete for each and every listing that will make its way in to my eBay store, and items with titles limited to the old number of characters that eBay allowed are slowly being extended to the new maximum amount.  All of this while avoiding any sense of burnout with any of those tasks.

Also a success this month was my second annual October Auctions Series. While the funds generated in 2011 failed to meet those of 2010, I am still left with a fairly healthy sum to put to use at the Toronto Expo in less than two weeks time, limiting the amount of money I will have to take from my regular income.

I also made a lot of notes on how to improve the series for it’s third run in 2012, which I hope will push that sales total even higher next year.

One negative item that has come up this month, however, is my growing concern about losing my PowerSeller status, even if only for a short time.

Sales totals since my store subscription downgrade have been below the pace needed to maintain PowerSeller status and unless I remedy the situation relatively quickly I could lose that status in a few months time.

My hope is that the October Auction Series results, coupled with being able to successfully flip some cards I find at the Toronto Fall Expo, will avoid such an occurrence.  Only time will tell if I will be able to be successful in that endeavour.

So that is about all there is to report this month.  Lots of positive progress has been made for when my store subscription can finally be upgraded to its former level, but that success didn’t come without a small dose of negativity to temper my excitement.

In other words, just another typical month for my “business” as of late.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Leave a Reply

