Skip to content

Changes Ahead in the New Year

December 18, 2011

2012 is coming up on me faster than I imagined it would back when I wrote about making planning a priority in early November.

With just two weeks to go before the new year gets started, I find myself feeling a little bit pressured to get those finishing touches put on the plans I have for the things that I want to get accomplished in the new year.

One area of my planning for which I do feel that I am well prepared though, is what I want to do with this blog in 2012.

For quite a while now I have been feeling as though I need to make some changes to it to both improve the product for those kind enough to actually read what I am writing and to improve the processes behind my writing.

When I say that there are changes coming, I am not talking about a full-scale design overhaul or any sort of significant shift in the focus of the topics I discuss.

The changes I speak of are more to do with simplifying things for myself moving forward, allowing myself greater freedom to write about what I want when I want, spreading my net a little wider on what I write about, and focusing content on the topics and categories that seem to be generating the most interest and interaction from readers.

Without going in to too much detail about what you’ll see starting in 2012, some of the things that I plan on doing include:

  • Reducing the number of regularly scheduled series of articles to two: one specifically focused on my collecting wants and needs and another focused on the progress I’m making toward my goal of a financially self-sufficiency.
  • Removing the restrictions of all Sunday posts being self-sufficiency/”business” focused and all Wednesday posts covering a range of other topics.
  • Broadening the range of topics I write about and increasing the number of categories of articles, both by introducing new themes and making some current sub-categories categories of their own.
  • Writing more articles that focus on the positives of my hobby experience.
  • Including more articles containing useful tips, advice, and resources related to selling on eBay
  • Referencing other blogs more frequently in my own writings in an effort to spread the useful resources that many other writers have to offer.

My hope is that these changes, along with a few others that I expect will evolve from the increased freedom I am aiming to give myself, will make for a better blog moving forward.  I hope that you’ll join me for the next part of the ride!

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

One Comment leave one →
  1. ausram66 permalink
    December 18, 2011 10:44 PM

    Look forward to seeing the changes come into being ! And all the best for the Holiday Season…

Leave a Reply

