Skip to content

A New Year Begins – Goals and Objectives for 2012

January 1, 2012

Today marks the start of a brand new year and for me, just like for many others, the beginning of a new year always brings with it a whole list of things that I want to accomplish over the twelve months ahead of me.

Last Sunday I provided a recap of the progress that I made in accomplishing the goals I had set for myself in 2011.

Some were achieved, while others were not.  I won’t go into any further detail on those today, but if you would like to see them for yourself you can find them here.

Before getting in to what’s ahead in 2012, I do want to extend a huge THANK YOU to Chris Guillebeau, author of the blog The Art of Non-Conformity.  Chris was kind enough to mention my review of 2011 in a post of his own on December 26th and to say I was excited about this would be an absolute understatement.

The (massive) increase in traffic to this blog that Chris’ mention of me caused was a nice surprise to return home to after visiting my family for Christmas.  The fact that my work was recognized and referenced by a blogger whose work I truly admire was an exponentially better feeling though!

With 2011 now behind me, it is time to turn my attention to what lies ahead in 2012 for the assortment of hobbies that forms “B-B Bros. Sports Collectibles”.

In 2011 I was all over the place when it came to setting a path for the year, something I attribute to having never done so before, at least not in a written form for others to see.

A bank of five resolutions was identified here on the blog, followed shortly thereafter by a set of goals and objectives that in a number of cases were just extensions of the resolutions (or vice versa).

For 2012 I wanted to employ a more focussed approach to where I want to take things.  That more focussed approach is outlined in the image below.

As you can see I have broken things down into three specific categories that fall under the header of “B-B Bros. Sports Collectibles”.

I did this after realizing that I was referring to “my hobby” on many occasions in 2011, knowing full-well that I was actually talking about actually a collection of hobbies that have gradually come together to form on personal mega-hobby:

I am trying to make Hobby #1 (my Collecting) financially self-sufficient by generating revenue from unwanted/unneeded elements of that collection through Hobby #2 (my “Business”), which I am promoting and chronicling the progress of through Hobby #3 (my Writing).

As the breakdown shown above indicates, the three categories each contain their own set of five goals and objectives for the coming year.

I arrived at these fifteen goals after jotting out fairly long lists of things that I wanted to accomplish in each area for the year.  Those lists were then refined and subsequently prioritized, resulting in what you see here today.

The overall idea behind these goals and objectives was to include items that are both challenging to accomplish and also realistic to expect success with.

I will be breaking down each category in greater detail individually beginning next Sunday, where I will provide some further information on how I arrived at these goals and objectives for 2012, as well as indicating some of the steps that I will be taking in an effort to achieve them.

*****

So there it is, the groundwork has been laid for my hobby for 2012.

A very Happy New Year to you and yours.  May it be a great one!

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | Subscribe via RSS

Leave a Reply

