Skip to content

January Self-Sufficiency Summary

January 29, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

January has been a month of detailing all of the new things I want to try here at the bbbros.ca blog over the coming year and today will fall into that realm once again.

For 2012 I have decided to ditch the posts known as Month-End “Business” Updates that fell on the final Sunday of each month and replace them with a more all-encompassing look at what I’ve been up to with regards to my personal mega-hobby (collecting, small/micro-business development, and writing) over the past month.

Since the main goal I have set for myself is to have a financially self-sufficient hobby and the pursuit of that goal is supported in some way by each of the three hobbies involved in my personal mega-hobby, I felt “Self-Sufficiency Summary” would be an appropriate title for this new series of articles.

Though today’s post falls on the final Sunday of the month, it will not necessarily do so throughout the year.  My monthly Self-Sufficiency Summary will appear on the final posting day of each month to recap the month that was and preview what lies ahead.

The aim is to tie the content of these posts to the goals and objectives I have set for each of the three areas for 2012, so that I can track my progress toward achieving them and hold myself accountable over the course of the year.

So without further delay, here’s a glimpse at what I’ve been up to when it comes to my pursuit of a financially self-sufficient hobby over the past month:

Collecting

  • I started a new collecting project for the first time in nearly three years.  For this project I will be pursuing cards of Toronto Blue Jays players from 2006 to 2010.
  • 47 cards that will be added to my collections have arrived so far this month.  It was one of the more exciting months I have had in recent memory when it comes to the number and quality of additions.  You can find all of the additions in my upcoming post on Wednesday.
  • I made two trades on Sports Card Forum, one of which is 100% complete.  For the other, I am just awaiting the arrival of my cards in the mail.  I am also trying to work out a deal with fellow hockey card blogger Paul at Card Boarded, which I hope we’ll be able to pull the trigger on soon.
  • I had an absolutely terrible break with a retail tin of 2011-12 Upper Deck Hockey Series 1.  More than two weeks after being told via Twitter and over the phone by UD Customer Service that they’d be happy to help address the issues, I have still yet to hear anything back about what can be done.  At this point I’m not holding my breath that I’ll be seeing any sort of resolution to the matter.

 “Business”

  • I had one of the worst months for sales on eBay in all of the years my store has been in operation.  Only four cards have sold so far this month, but thankfully they generated enough revenue to ensure that I don’t lose money over the course of the month.
  • I have been diligently been using eBay’s Turbo Lister program to update hundreds of my old listings as I prepare to return my store to its former state, which I hope will occur within the next 60-90 days.
  • I have started researching options for affiliate marketing programs as a step toward generating revenue from other sources.
  • The web domain “bbbros.com” became available, so I quickly bought it and had it redirect to my existing website.  This will help reduce the chances that people will visit the wrong domain (the previous owner had a site dedicated to fantasy role playing games if memory serves me correctly) and it came with a very minimal price tag.
  • I started my investment project.  So far I have brought in nine cards at an expense of $13.51, leaving a balance of $236.49 to continue to work with.  Tonight I put them up for auction in my first attempt at turning a profit on non-collection related purchases in 2012.
  • I have started some preliminary work on my plan of enhancing my website, including playing with some design and layout options and developing some content for the “Resources” page that I plan on adding to the site soon.

Writing

Despite all of the work that went into the things you see above, January was far from a self-sufficient month for my hobby.

I’m far from worried about that though.  Given the success I had in the first six months of 2011 and the lessons I learned in the latter six, I know that I am moving in the right direction even if the results aren’t there just yet.  As long as I stay focused on the path I have set for 2012 I believe that self-sufficiency will be well within reach by the time the year is done.

As always, please feel free to get in touch with any questions, comments, or (constructive) criticism you might have for me.  Leave a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Until Wednesday’s Want List Wednesday/Project Progress Report Combo to kick off the month of February, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

