Skip to content

Another Local Card Shop Bites The Dust?

February 5, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

I had considered writing today’s post about the Super Bowl match-up between the New England Patriots and New York Giants, but since a ton of other blogs are likely going to do that and I have no connection to (or knowledge of) the football card and memorabilia collecting hobby, I’m going to go a different route.

Unfortunately that different route isn’t exactly of the positive variety when it comes to the topic of conversation.

As some of you may have seen mentioned on other blogs (see Canada Card World and Pack War) over the course of the past few days, a card store in Chatham, Ontario was robbed last weekend.

Thefts of cards and memorabilia from collectors and dealers seem to be in the news on a relatively regular basis and they’re stories that are always very disheartening for me to read about.

The amount of time, effort, and money collectors and local store owners dedicate and invest into this hobby is tremendous and to have it all taken away in an instant from a place that they feel is safe and secure must be unimaginably heartbreaking.

The reason this specific example of a theft from a fellow member of the collecting community stood out for me is that it hits home a little more than the other stories have.

The reason for that is that all of my aunts and uncles on my dad’s side live in Chatham and it’s a place that I have visited for family events since the day I was born.

Included in that group of family members who live in Chatham is the uncle that got my dad, brother and I hooked on collecting in the first place.  While I have never visited the store that was victimized myself, I am sure that my uncle has as he searches for items for his own collection.

Obviously the theft impacts the owner of the store immensely, but its effects sound likely to have a much broader results.  The owner of the shop estimates that nearly $40,000 worth of inventory was pilfered from his store, a figure that may leave him no choice but to shutter the store permanently which in turn would eliminate yet another local card shop from the hobby landscape.

Sports card and memorabilia stores are difficult to come by in many cities nowadays.  For me, the nearest stores are located 30-40 minutes away, but they’re in opposite directions from my house.

The gradual loss of every single one of my truly local options for cards and collectibles was a disappointing experience in every single instance, so I can only imagine what collectors in the Chatham area (my uncle included) must be feeling knowing they too could lose theirs as a result of the actions of people who don’t deserve to be involved in this hobby in any way, shape, or form.

Let’s hope the slime bags who did this are caught and convicted, and that the store owner can get back to business as usual.

Sadly, I’m guessing it’s already much too late for that.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits and remember to enjoy and appreciate your own local card shop…if you still have one left.

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelly Stamps permalink
    February 7, 2012 1:00 AM

    Hi, I liked your blog and I invite you to join our website:http://www.coollectors.com – The Collectors Free Marketplace & Club – where you can Buy, Sell, Exchange & Catalog Collectibles, free of charge.
    See you soon -:)
    Shelly

Trackbacks

  1. February Self-Sufficiency Summary « the bbbros.ca blog
  2. My Own Local Card Shop Amongst Recent Hobby Robbery Victims « the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

