Skip to content

Upper Deck’s National Hockey Card Day

February 12, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Yesterday was a day of hockey celebration here in Canada with Hockey Day in Canada taking place all day long on CBC.  Upper Deck also got in on the act with its fourth annual National Hockey Card Day promotion.

For the first time ever Upper Deck extended the promotion to the United States in addition to Canada, offering collectors in each country a 5-card pack from their participating hobby shops, completely free of charge.

I look forward to National Hockey Card Day every year because it gives me a perfect excuse to make the roughly 30 minute trip out of town to my “local” card shop.

It’s not a trip that I make very often anymore because of the distance and time, so having an added incentive to head down there is always nice.  It’s also the one day a year where my wife willingly comes along with me on a hobby-related excursion/detour, giving her a rare glimpse into my hobby outside of my home office.

That means a second pack of National Hockey Card Day cards for me!

This year’s trip definitely fell under the detour category, as we made it a pit stop while we were out on a dining room furniture shopping expedition.  It was a nice little distraction from thinking about nothing but tables and chairs for me.

After exploring the store for a couple of minutes we headed up to the counter.  Unfortunately, I left my want list sitting in the output tray of my printer, so my plan of doing a quick search for some cards that I need was thrown off completely.  I was able to pick up a bunch of supplies that I needed though, so the trip wasn’t a complete waste, but still not as fruitful as I’d been hoping.

After the owner handed me my pack while I paid for my supplies, my wife announced “Can I have a free pack of hockey cards too? It’s the reason he brought me in here today!”, much to the amusement of a couple of guys ripping some packs at the counter.

He obliged and we headed out to the car to see what we got before getting back to the real purpose of our trip.

I tore into my pack first, which yielded the following:

Getting four of the five rookies in the set was a nice surprise, but of course the one I didn’t get is the one I most wanted: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins.  Still, pretty tough for to complain too much about what my pack had inside.

My wife then opened up her pack. She netted these:

Yup…card for card, the exact same pack!  Just my luck that I’d end up getting a whole batch of doubles.

Of the five cards that I got (twice), the Orr card is definitely my favourite of the bunch.  The colour scheme works better for me than the Rookies subset cards do (a little too Halloween with the orange and black; it really only works on the Couturier) and the colour photo of a young Bobby is a nice one.

Of the 15 cards in the set the only one I really had any need for is the Mario Lemieux, so if you have one that you’re willing to part with then please let me know.  Also, if you’re interested in any of the cards shown above then drop me a line too and we’ll see if we can work out a deal of some sort.

You can get in touch by posting a comment, emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting on Facebook and Twitter.

A big thanks to Upper Deck for once again offering this promotion to collectors.  I’ve always thought this was a great way to not only attract some new collectors, but also to reward long-time collectors for their passion and dedication to the hobby.

Hopefully we’ll see the program return in 2013.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

