Skip to content

Talking Trades: Encountering Issues Already

February 19, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

One of my five major collecting goals this year was to complete a trade at least once amount for the duration of 2012.

While today’s article will touch briefly on my rather limited success thus far, it has more to do with the challenges I’m (re)encountering since taking up that part of the hobby once again.

First, my only successful deal from the month of January.

I unloaded a total of six cards from 08-09 O-Pee-Chee in the form of two Metal-X parallels and four Retro parallels in exchange for these two cards:

05-06 Upper Deck Victory Update Gold Parallel /100 – George Parros

 

94-95 Topps Finest Refractor Parallel – Brendan Shanahan

I have already sold the Parros at auction on eBay for a paltry $0.99 and hope to have the Shanahan sold shortly as well.  Certainly not a huge return but it’s still better than nothing, which is exactly what those O-Pee-Chee cards had earned me prior to shipping them out in this deal.

I currently have 3 more deals in the hopper and hopefully at least one of them will be 100% complete by the end of the month so that I stay on track with that collecting objective through the first two months of the year.

My eBay Store: Current Auctions

But now let’s move on to the main reason for today’s article and that is to discuss some of the issues I’ve already run in to since getting back in to the fray of trading online.

The main issue I am noticing centres on peoples’ communications habits.

In the roughly seven weeks that I have been trying to make trading a part of my daily hobby routine, I have run into a number of instances where the communication process has gone less than smoothly.

From not bothering to actually read the contents of a message and responding with a question that has already been answered, to suddenly cutting off communication mid-negotiation, to just not responding to an inquiry/offer at all after just starting a thread seeking out items, these things begin to get annoying in pretty short order.

The thing I try to keep in mind however, is that just as this is a hobby for me, it is also likely just a hobby for the significant majority of any potential trading partners.

Not only that, but I have to admit that I am guilty of some of the above from time to time myself.  The fact is that other aspects of my hobby come first and I squeeze in the trading where and when I can right now.  Because of this I cannot begrudge my fellow collectors for their own inattention or tardiness.

Much worse than the communications issues, however, is that with just my second attempted trade since re-entering the fray at the beginning of the year, I have already run into the dreaded “package didn’t arrive” scenario.

Sports Card Forum is the only site I currently trade on and just prior to my abandoning trading a few years ago they introduced a formal feedback system.  Part of that system involves traders with less than 20 complete deals being forced to send their cards first rather than at the same time as their trading partner.

Such is the case for me right now (I only completed a couple trades under the feedback system before cutting out trading altogether), meaning at this moment I am stuck relying on the honesty of those I am trying to trade with or paying exorbitant fees to have my packages shipped with tracking.

Lo-and-behold, while I’m stuck in a system that provides me no security unless I pay through the nose for it, I run into an issue.

It’s probably unfair for me to make any sort of direct accusation since I have no way of knowing for certain if I have in fact been ripped off, but I’m sure many of you can sympathize as to why I am a bit suspicious given that all of the factors necessary for me to get shorted are there.

Thankfully it was only for a couple of low-end cards that were in no way worthy of the expense of shipping my package with tracking, so I’m not terribly upset.  It’s more just a minor nuisance than anything else and something I don’t foresee dwelling on any more after today.

###

Do you trade with other collectors online and run into issues of your own?

What issues do you have and how do you deal with these issues without getting too frustrated?

Let me know by shooting me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com, connecting on Facebook and Twitter, or posting a comment.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

