Skip to content

Talking Trades: Done Deal!

February 22, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

It was only this past Sunday that I last posted a Talking Trades article, so I was a little hesitant to go back to the same topic area for a second consecutive post.

In Sunday’s article I included a brief reference to my only successfully completed trade for the month of January, while focussing the rest of the article on the issues and challenges I have encountered since re-engaging myself in the trading side of the hobby on a more regular basis.

Since I’d like to keep this blog as positive as possible though, I figured it was both appropriate and important to report on as soon as possible, if only so that I didn’t forget any of the details of the deal.

Of course, the positive experience I speak of just happened to come to a conclusion the day after I posted my article in which I did a little bit of venting about the online trading process.

Perfect timing as usual for me!

The deal I speak of involved user “redwings195” on the Sports Card Forum boards.

In the deal I shipped out this 2005-06 Upper Deck Ice Fresh Ice Jersey Glass parallel of Johan Franzen…

…and in return I got this 2002-03 Pacific Heads Up Purple parallel /30 of Samsonov:

As an added bonus, the card just happens to be serial number 14/30, Sergei’s jersey number.

When we started discussing things this deal had the potential to be larger than a straight one-for-one, but we couldn’t agree on an asking price that we each found acceptable for a few of those added elements.

I had worried that our inability to pull off the bigger deal meant the entire thing would fall by the wayside, but sure enough we were able to get something done in the end.

In fact, it was our ability to get beyond those disagreements before coming to an agreement that made the deal such a positive experience for me; it was a true negotiation and it allowed us to arrive at a mutually beneficial conclusion.

This is exactly what I wanted to get out of the trading process when I decided to re-engage myself in it on a more regular basis in 2012 and I’m very happy to have this positive experience mitigate the more negative things I spoke of on Sunday.

That and it now means that I’ve been successful in completing Collecting Goal #5 for another month.

###

What’s your favourite part of the trading process?  Do you enjoy the negotiation side as much as I did in the encounter outlined above?  Or are you strictly focussed on the results?

Email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or post a comment to share your perspective.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

