Skip to content

A Great Weekend in Ottawa

February 26, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Tonight’s post is going to be a quick one.  A combination of being on the road for nearly 6 hours today, feeling rather unimpressed by the state of the article I had planned on posting when I got home, and wanting to spend a few hours catching up on the weekend that was with my wife has me offering up only a brief recap of what was a truly great weekend for me.

It was great because my dad and I headed up to Ottawa on Friday morning to spend the weekend visiting my brother and his girlfriend, something I don’t get to do nearly as often as I would like because of the distance between the places we currently call home.

Of course the one major snow storm of the year had to come on the day we planned to make the trip, turning what should have been a four and a half hour drive from Toronto into an 8 hour crawl, but we made the trip out there safely and immediately put the frustration of the drive behind us to enjoy an excellent couple of days.

We ate well at every meal, tried out some excellent wines and beers with our dinners each night, and of course we threw a few hobby-related things in to the mix as well.  Most importantly though, it was all done in the company of people who I wish I had the chance to see more often than I do, which made each part of the trip that much more enjoyable for me.

The hobby-related portion of our trip included visits to three separate local cards shops (something I can only dream of being able to do here at home), found a bunch of cards from our want lists, and even broke open a couple of boxes while we were there, things that I plan to touch on in more detail in some upcoming articles.

For now though, this little list of highlights will have to do.

As usual the weekend has gone by too fast and a busy week or work awaits me, which means I need to get some sleep.  And though it felt short, it was an absolutely great time and I can’t wait to get back out there for a visit again.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

