Skip to content

Mission Accomplished: 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces Brown Border Set

March 4, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store
| RSS Feed

Today is something of a rarity for me in that I can finally mark a piece of one of my major collecting project 100% complete.

That piece is the Brown Border parallel set that makes up a chunk of my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces master set project.

My eBay Store: Buy Your 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces Cards

In my most recent Want List Wednesday/Project Progress Report Combo article posted back on the 1st of February, I had five cards remaining in the want list (#’s 7, 15, 18, 39, and 53), which amounts to about 6% of the set.

Given that it had taken almost three years to get the first 82 cards, I can’t say that I was all that confident that the list would be eliminated in the span of a single month.

As it turned out though, things came together pretty quickly on getting the last handful of cards marked off the list.

#7 (Patrick Roy) and #15 (Ray Bourque) were the first two to be removed from the want list after a seller on eBay accepted my offers on each of the two cards just prior to posting the article on the 1st.  I never want to jinx things when it comes to my want list though, so they remained included in my article until they were in hand.

Days later I found #39 (Luc Robitaille) on Check Out My Cards and had it included as a part of my first ever order through the site. 

#53 (Guy Lafleur) was the next to be found; an eBay auction win at all of 99 cents.  The card arrived just prior to my departure for my trip to Ottawa to visit my brother, which left card #18, featuring former Winnipeg Jets star Dale Hawerchuk, as the only one left to chase.

For whatever reason, I have only seen this card pop up on eBay on a few rare occasions.  The few times that it did, the Buy It Now price was either more than I was willing to pay or the card was included as a part of a lot that didn’t include any other cards that were of interest to me.

As luck would have it, I stumbled across the card buried in a binder of 2008-09 parallel cards at the first of the three card stores my dad and I stopped in to during our weekend in the capital.

Finally, I was finished a piece of this set!

Given that many of my collecting projects are either a long way from completion or will be virtually impossible to ever complete, it is a very rewarding feeling to finally mark a piece of it as finished.

The next closest project (or piece thereof) that I am working on that is close to being completed is the Canvas Clippings Brown jersey set from the same Masterpieces master set project.  With the bulk of those remaining being the bigger names in the set and/or being short printed though, there is a very real possibility that this will be the only “Mission Accomplished” post of 2012.

So for you viewing pleasure, I present my completed set of 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces Brown Border parallels.

Enjoy, and until Wednesday’s latest update of my want lists, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

 

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

