Skip to content

My Own Local Card Shop Amongst Recent Hobby Robbery Victims

March 11, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Just five short weeks ago I posted an article about a card shop in Chatham – the hometown of the bulk of my dad’s family, including the uncle who got me into sports collectibles in the first place – being robbed and potentially going out of business as a result.

I have yet to hear whether or not the store has actually closed up shop, though I’m sure I will the next time I see that uncle I just mentioned.

As surprising and disappointing as that story was for me to hear about though, it pales in comparison to the subject matter for today’s post.

It was just over a week ago now that I was on the local newspaper’s website seeing what was going on in my community when I saw a link to a story about a sports memorabilia store being the victim of a fairly significant robbery.

Knowing that there were very few of these stores within the same area that is covered by my local newspaper, I immediately feared the worst: it was the closest thing that I have to a local card shop that had been broken into.

Sadly, my worst fears were confirmed almost as soon as I clicked the link and started reading the story. 

All told, it would appear that about $9,000 worth of jerseys (located within plain view of the front window of the store) were taken in just a couple of minutes.

Disappointment cannot even begin to describe how I felt.  I immediately thought back to the Chatham robbery story and became concerned about what might happen to the store in the long-term.

Thankfully though, it would appear as though things are not in dire straits for The Ice Box, based on the following quote from Wayne Frazer, the manager of the store:

“This doesn’t dampen our enthusiasm for doing this job… I’ve been in the business for more than 20 years and have been collecting for 36, so one bad night isn’t going to wipe out all of that.”

I stopped in to the store last weekend to pick up some supplies and had a quick chat with Wayne.  He was clearly disappointed by the entire episode, but he seemed to be taken it all in stride.  And business certainly appeared to be going on as usual, something that was very much a relief to me, just as I imagine it has been for all of Wayne’s customers.

In my own little effort to help out get the word out and bring to justice the low-lives who did this, if you happen to live in southern Ontario and might have heard anything about this crime please be sure to call the South Simcoe Police at 705-436-2141 or Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-TIPS (8477).

Hopefully this is the last time I have to write about some of the most negative aspects of this hobby that seem to be hitting especially close to home for me as of late.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits.

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

