Skip to content

March Self-Sufficiency Summary

March 28, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | RSS Feed

With today being the last posting date on the calendar for March, so it’s time again for my monthly review of the progress I’ve made toward achieving the 15 goals and objectives I set for myself in the trio of hobbies that make up the personal mega-hobby that create B-B Bros. Sports Collectibles.

Here you have it:

Collecting

  • I shrunk the want lists for my non-player-specific projects by another 97 cards, almost exclusively via the trade route.
  • That shrinking included the completion of my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces Brown Parallel set.
  • I took the first step in the right direction when it comes to purging my collection of duplication, prepping all of my duplicate 2006-07 Upper Deck Artifacts Bronze parallels /25 for auctions and selling a handful of them.
  • 5 trades got completed over the course of the month, substantially exceeding my self-imposed single-trade-per-month quota.
  • Upper Deck’s Customer Service Department came through with some replacement cards and packs for the disaster of a retail tin I opened way back in MONTH.  Three hobby packs (got a Erik Gustafsson Young Guns RC and a Tyler Myers Canvas insert) were accompanied by a Mike Weber jersey card and a Brett Connolly Canvas Young Guns.

“Business”

  • I’m still lagging badly on the increasing my sales by 10% in terms of both volume and revenue, to the point that I am already concerned I won’t be able to make up the difference once I am finally able to get my eBay store back to its former state (ETA on that is now the third week of April!).  If I can get things back to the way they were in the first 6 months of 2011 in short order then I may have a shot though.
  • I made some great progress on the updating of my old listings in eBay’s Turbo Lister program, with nearly 600 items now ready to head back online a the click of a mouse, hopefully in just a few weeks’ time.
  • I was finally able to generate a little income from the ads I have running on my website, but “little” is a very key word in that statement.  It’s a start though, so hopefully there’s more to come down the road!
  • I simplified the layout and content of my website homepage and will finally be adding the long overdue “Resources” page very shortly.  I’m also developing a plan for the addition of other pages on which I plan to include useful information for potential customers and fellow collectors alike.
  • Attempting to sell pieces of my inventory of cards in my investment project took a backseat this month.  I did add some cards at a reasonable price though, leaving me with just over $200 in the account and a total of 46 cards in the inventory, many of which will start heading to the auction block on Sunday night.

Writing

For the third month in a row, I was not able to get my revenues to exceed my expenditures for my three-headed monster of a hobby, continuing my string of months that have not been financially self-sufficient. 

I expect much the same to occur in April, but I’ve got my eye on the month of May as the time to really turn things around.  Not only do I expect to be back up to full speed with my eBay Store, but the Toronto Spring Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo takes place the first weekend of the month, offering massive amounts of potential to find steals for my investment project.

As I always suggest at the end of these articles, please feel free to get in touch with any comments, questions, or inquiries about my pursuit or any of the other topics covered here on the bbbros.ca blog.

Just leave a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Finally, if you haven’t already signed up to automatically be updated when I post a new article, become a subscriber via the RSS feed or just click the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column of the page.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Photo: lydian

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

