Skip to content

April Self-Sufficiency Summary

April 29, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Each and every month of the year I use my final post of the month to look back on the progress I have made on the 15 goals and objectives I have set for my personal mega-hobby, otherwise known as B-B Bros. Sports Collectibles.

The overarching goal for that personal mega-hobby is to one day have it become 100% financially self-sufficient, using the proceeds of the sales of my unwanted/unneeded sports cards and memorabilia to pay for items that I do want to add my collections.

Well for the first time this year I have some actual financial self-sufficiency to report on in this month’s Self-Sufficiency Summary article!

The combination of intentionally limiting my purchases to save money for the Toronto Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo that I’ll be attending on Friday and increasing my sales through the more frequent use of eBay auctions are what put me in the black for the first time in 2012.

Despite my success this month I am still dipping in to the personal finances for the year as a whole, and I fully expect that May will follow the same pattern (I tend to spend a lot at the Expo shows!).

But things are definitely moving in the right direction for me and this month’s success is the latest indication that I am making the kind of progress necessary to achieve my ultimate goal in the long-term.

As for the 15 specific goals and objectives I have set for myself this year, here’s a recap of what I did in April in my attempt to mark them complete:

Collecting

  • Once again I didn’t add any cards to my latest collecting project of 2006-2010 Toronto Blue Jays cards.  Hopefully I’ll be able to find some affordable stuff at the Expo when I’m there on Friday.  Failing that, adding to this new collection will require some more attention moving forward.
  • 72 cards were removed from my non-player specific want lists, with all but four of those acquisitions coming through trades with fellow collectors on the Sports Card Forum boards.  None of those additions led to a set being completely removed from my want lists however.
  • It was a very slow month for additions to my player collections with only 13 additions across all six of the players I focus on.  None of those were of the 10 years or older variety, but again, I’m hoping to cross a few of those off my lists at the Expo.
  • More purging was done in the form of auctioning off some duplicate parallels from my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces collection.  The big work of eliminating duplicates of complete sets from my permanent collection still awaits, but even baby steps are a help.
  • I wrapped up four more trades, making it a perfect 4 for 4 in months with completed trades in 2012.

 “Business”

  • My goal of increasing my sales by 10% over my 2011 volume and revenue numbers took another hit as the restrictions placed on my eBay Store subscription level were not lifted as I had expected they would be.  Even still, I anticipate a greater number of months without restrictions in 2012 than I had in 2011, so there’s still hope.
  • It was another month with a great deal of progress being made in updating my old listings as I get them prepared to be relisted in my eBay Storeinventory soon.  At the pace I’m going I should be able to achieve my goal of my listings accounting for 1% of all hockey card listings on eBay.ca by the end of the year.
  • Unfortunately there has been no further progress on the alternate sources of income goal.  Another area that will require increased attention and creativity moving forward.
  • I finally got around to creating a Resources page on my website.  It’s not a complete product just yet, but currently features links to some of my favourite blogs (both related to collectibles and not), as well as a handful of useful information sources related to the sports card and memorabilia collecting hobby.
  • Aside from an ill-advised purchase of a couple of 2009-10 Upper Deck Fat Packs at Wal-Mart, I literally did nothing on my investment project this month.  That was by design though.  With the Expo coming up on Friday, I wanted to save my limited financial resources for that show, especially since I tend to have a great deal of success in finding cards to flip for a profit when I’m at the Expo shows.

Writing

  • Shortening the length of my articles was something I did a decent job at this month, inching ever-closer to a 500-600 word average instead of the novels I tend to ramble on in (like today’s article!).
  • The bulk of this month’s articles focused on my experiences on eBay, but I did manage to squeeze in an article highlighting what I consider to be a great looking card, as well as a roundup of some completed trades.
  • I’ve been including more links to resources and asking questions of my readers as frequently as I can, yet the response hasn’t been quite as successful as I’d been hoping.  I won’t be deterred though, as readership continues to increase, so too will reader engagement and interaction.

So there it is, another month in the books and another round of progress made in pursuit of my goals.  If you’ve got any feedback for me I’d love to hear it.  Just leave a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Also, if you’re not already subscribed to my RSS feed, just click the link or the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column of the page for instant updates of whenever I post a new article here on my blog.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

