Skip to content

Retail Review: Toys R Us Oversize Card Repack

May 9, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Last Thursday I was eagerly anticipating my trip to the Toronto Spring Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo the next morning and the itch to get my hands on some new cards for my collection seemed to be getting more intense with each passing hour.

By the time I had finished dinner that night I simply couldn’t take it anymore.  In search of an excuse to make a quick trip down the road to the local Wal-Mart and Toys R Us to see what they might have, I volunteered to run some errands that my wife and I had on our list of things to do.

Though I didn’t find anything of interest to me at Wal-Mart, the trip to Toys R Us proved to be much more fruitful.

Finding no blasters on sale and only a handful of loose packs from which to choose, I turned my attention to a different area of the rack and that’s when I saw a fairly unusual repack staring me right in the face.

On the one side was two packs of 2007-08 Upper Deck Black Diamond with what looked to be a random assortment of loose cards sandwiched in between.

On the other side was a pack of 2008-09 O-Pee-Chee 3.5 x 5 cards, with six more 3.5 x 5 cards sitting loosely behind it.  I could see an 08-09 Upper Deck Victory Forsberg, but nothing more than the borders of the other cards.

I had never seen the oversized cards included in a repack before and when some closer inspection of the borders of the loose cards revealed that three of them were from the 2007-08 O-Pee-Chee set that I have sold cards from in the past (and for a decent price too), I decided to give one a shot for the limited investment of $9.99 plus tax.

Based on what I pulled, I think I could have done much worse for my $10.

The packs of Black Diamond contained all single diamond cards aside from a Double Diamond of Chris Drury and the ten loose cards sandwiched in between were from the 2008-09 Upper Deck PowerPlay set, the best of which was Eric Staal.

Not a lot of excitement there to be sure.

The jumbos, on the other hand, reaped a much better return.

The nine cards broke down into three cards each from a trio of products: 2008-09 Upper Deck Victory at the back of the pack; 2007-08 O-Pee-Chee in the middle; and a sealed pack of 2008-09 O-Pee-Chee at the front.

From the 2007-08 O-Pee-Chee group I got a trifecta of Flames:

From 2008-09 Upper Deck Victory:

(Unfortunately I don’t need the Thornton in my collection).

And from the 2008-09 O-Pee-Chee pack I got the following:

The game’s most dynamic player, a future Hall of Fame goaltender, and the best two way player in the hockey according to The Hockey News…not bad at all!

The only complaint I can really have on the jumbos is that it would have been nice to get a bit more variety in terms of the team that the players are on in the 2007-08 O-Pee-Chee group.

Aside from that I was really pleased with what I pulled. 

The worst of the lot is clearly the Huselius, but it only got better from there, with some of the best players in the game from the past decade showing up on the other eight cards.

This is definitely a product I will buy again if I’m in Toys R Us and see them on the rack.

If you’re interested in any of the cards pictured or mentioned and would like to work out a deal in the next few days then please get in touch by sending me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com

Otherwise, look for them to hit the auction block or end up in the inventory list of my eBay Store starting on Sunday.

###

What do you think of repack products?  Do you have any success stories from them or have you been left disappointed? 

What are your thoughts on the oversized cards being included this specific product?  What about the production of oversized cards in general?

Post a comment, send me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connect on Facebook and Twitter to let me and other collectors know.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

