Skip to content

Reflecting on Collecting: Happy Mothers’ Day!

May 13, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

There are a million reasons why my mom deserves to be recognized for being a great one today, but since this is a blog dedicated to the hobby of sports card and memorabilia collecting, I’m going to focus specifically on that topic and her involvement in it.

And drawing that connection between my mom and collecting isn’t difficult for me to do at all; she’s been playing a role in my hobby from the day I started taking part.

She may not have understood my obsession with sports cards and collectibles when I was living under her roof and probably still doesn’t entirely understand it today, she has never been anything but supportive of my involvement in it.

Whether it be the collecting piece, the eBay piece, or the writing piece (though I’m not sure she’s ever visited this blog, she’s happy I’m writing simply for the enjoyment of it), she has always been understanding, accepting, and encouraging of my hobby-related pursuits.

There have never been negative comments like “there are a lot better things you could be spending your time and money on”.  Instead it’s been “there are a lot worse things you could be doing with your time and money.”

When we went to the toy store or convenience store she always let my brother and I stop in at the rack with packs of cards and often let us get one if we spotted something of interest to us.

When our collection started growing well beyond the confines of a couple of boxes in our bedroom closets her response was to help convert a storage room into our “card room”, providing us with a space dedicated keeping our collection organized, safe, and secure.

Just as she has done with all of our other interests and pursuits, she always provided an environment in which I could pursue my passions without any sort of judgement, lack of support, or pressure to do something other than what I wanted.

For that I could not be more appreciative and thankful.

So despite the fact that she likely won’t ever read this post, I wanted to make sure that I took this opportunity to say “Happy Mother’s Day mom!”

And Happy Mothers’ Day to all of the other mom’s out there too, especially those who helped make this hobby one that we are able to enjoy so much.

###

Has your mom had a positive influence on your passion for collecting? 

Let me know by posting a comment, sending me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting with me and other collectors on Facebook and Twitter.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

