Skip to content

Factory Set Review: 2010-11 Panini All Goalies

May 16, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | RSS Feed

In my review of the 2012 Toronto Spring Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo I noted that for the first time that I can remember, I did not buy a single box of packs at the show.

The money I saved by not buying anything was a good thing, but not having any boxes to review here on the blog is something I’ve definitely noticed as being a negative for me.

I enjoy ripping packs and posting the results and I’m feeling a little annoyed at myself for not having bought even one of the $10 blasters to review that were available in such abundance at the show.

Despite there being no boxes to break and review, I did pick up a couple of factory sets though, so I figured I may as well review them. 

Today’s post will look at the first of the two: 2010-11 Panini All Goalies.

To be perfectly honest, pretty much the only reason I picked up this set was because of the price I found it for. 

I’m not a goalie collector, I have no projects on the go that involve goalies specifically, and remember being rather underwhelmed by the previews and subsequent reviews I saw at the time of the product’s release.

But for a meagre $8 price tag I figured it would be pretty difficult to go wrong. 

It’s not often that you can find a product that guarantees a complete set, five inserts, and a memorabilia card for that kind of price.

Let’s have a look at what my little box had to offer!

*****

Ratings & Assessments

Base Set – 3.5 out of 5

While I’m usually a big fan of sets in which the manufacturer has gone out of its way to have the featured player displayed more prominently than the rest of the card, the design on this set seems to have more misses than hits in attempting to achieve that.

Though some of the cards make the design look very attractive and feature photos that look great…

…others look feature some pretty poor images (and cropping to force the goalie to the left of the card and fit the design – see Mike Smith’s missing right arm)…

…while others look as though the player is fading away into the hazy fog effect used in this set.

Unfortunately, I found that the poor images outnumbered the good ones in this set.

From a player-selection angle this set runs the gamut.  I was pleased to see the inclusion of the 11 retired stars (strange number to include in 100 card set to me)…

…but having 89 cards to spread over 30 teams meant that a number of guys named “Who?” made an appearance as well.

Despite having never heard of some of the players in the set, there were some solid prospects included…

…to go along with the expected selection of NHL regulars.

Autographs – N/A

None available in this product.

Inserts/Parallels – 2 out of 5

As I made note of earlier, each factory set contains five Up Close parallel cards in addition to the base set.

From my perspective these left a lot to be desired.

First, the cards were so indistinguishable from the base set cards at first glance that I didn’t even realize that I got any parallels at all; I thought I had simply received five duplicates!

Second, it would have been nice to get a better assortment than five cards in sequence that covered only two teams.

On closer inspection the stencil sketch look of the background images are actually pretty attractive, but the initial letdowns in my experience with the parallels simply couldn’t be balanced out.

Memorabilia – 3 out of 5

My memorabilia card was of Mike Smith, which would have been a total let down at this time last year.

But after a year in which he has resurrected his career and has guided the Phoenix Coyotes to the Western Conference Final, Smith isn’t looking like a completely terrible pull at all.

As with some of the base set cards, the image Panini chose to use on this card doesn’t make Smith stand out very well.

There’s nothing overly special about this card, but that seems to be the case for almost every memorabilia card these days, aside from a handful of selection in some of the top-tier products.

Rookie Cards – 2.5 out of 5

I’m basing this assessment on prospects/rookies as opposed to true rookie cards since most collectors wouldn’t consider the cards in this set to be true RCs due to the distribution method.

As I mentioned above, there are some guys in this set that I’ve never heard of, but their inclusion was balanced out somewhat by the inclusion of some legitimate top flight goaltending prospects.

Given that goalies tend to take a long time to develop there’s a chance that guys like Timo Pielmeier, Matt Climie, and J.P. Anderson will be recognizable names down the road, but my preference would have been to see more retired stars making an appearance than guys who’ve simply had a cup of coffee in the league.

Quality Control – 5 out of 5

Absolutely nothing to complain about here, the cards were in great condition, everything that should have been in the box was in there, and the set was collated as it should have been.

Overall Box Value – 3 out of 5

Despite its shortcomings, for the most part I was pretty happy with what I got from All Goalies.

A complete set featuring a very thorough player selection, five inserts to either trade or sell, and a memorabilia card to do the same with is a pretty good buy in my books, especially at just $8.

That relatively positive sentiment is definitely aided by the miniscule price tag though.  Had I paid anything more than $10 for this product I think I would have been much more disappointed and dissatisfied than any of the product’s flaws have caused me to be.

###

Did you buy any factory sets of All Goalies?  What are your thoughts on the product?  How about its distribution in factory-set-only form?

Get in touch and let me know by posting a comment, emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting on Twitter and Facebook.

If you are interested in buying or trading for anything you see above then feel free to get in touch too.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    May 21, 2012 2:36 PM

    where did u get those? around here, those boxes are $30. i’ll tradeu. call me 905-450-4387

Trackbacks

  1. Factory Set Review: 2010-11 Score Rookies and Traded « the bbbros.ca blog
  2. Calamity on Cardboard: 1999-2000 Pacific Prism « the bbbros.ca blog
  3. Box Break: 2011-12 Panini Rookie Anthology « the bbbros.ca blog
  4. Retail Review: 12 Packs of 2010-11 Pinnacle « the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

