Skip to content

Factory Set Review: 2010-11 Score Rookies and Traded

May 20, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | RSS Feed

On Wednesday I posted my review 2010-11 Panini All Goalies, one of two factory sets that I picked up at the 2012 Toronto Spring Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo at the beginning of the month.

Today it’s a review of the second of the two factory set purchases at the Expo: 2010-11 Score Rookies and Traded.

While All Goalies was picked up principally because of the price, Score Rookies and Traded had an additional appeal for me.

Since I was a kid we’ve collected Score, completing the set every year back in the Score/Pinnacle days.  When Panini reintroduced the brand at the beginning of last season I bought a box with the intention of finishing a set, but have yet to get around to doing that.

While completing the regular set is still on the back-burner, buying the update set for the same $8 price tag (from the same dealer of course) that I paid for All Goalies was a no-brainer in helping push the overall set closer to completion.

Rookies and Traded offers a 99 card set, with five gold parallels and one rookie autograph in each factory set box.  

In my books that’s another steal at just $8, especially for something that will become a part of my permanent collection.

Here’s a look at what I got out of this factory set:

*****

Ratings & Assessments

Base Set – 5 out of 5

This set definitely has a sentimental feel to it for me.  As I mentioned in my box break review (one of the first articles that I ever posted here on the blog), the old school design takes me back to when I was only about 8 years old and my dad, my brother and I would spend hours opening packs and organizing sets.

When Panini first reintroduced the Score brand at the beginning of the 2010-11 season I was happy to see they mimicked the design of the first ever Score set produced in 1990-91. 

The cards have a very clean, crisp look to them, with the red bars at the top and bottom and white frame around the picture.  The photography is solid throughout the product, prominently displaying the featured player in an action shot that limit the amount of background noise appearing along with them.

This is definitely a product for prospectors, as the set basically breaks down into 9 cards of players featured in the regular set’s Hot Rookies subset…

…25 cards of guys who were traded during the season (or attempted a comeback in the case of Forsberg)…

…and a whopping 65 Hot Rookies cards, many of which feature players I had never heard of before finding them in this set and will likely never hear of again.

My one less-than-positive observation about the set is that the black used in the design for the “Rookies and Traded” banner (particularly on the Hot Rookies Cards) and the player name area on the non-Hot Rookies cards looks a little out of place to me. 

To me blue would have been a better option for the banner, with black font on a white box for the name area making for a bit better look.  I’m probably just splitting hairs with this complaint though.

Autographs – 2.5 out of 5

My autograph was of Columbus Blue Jackets “prospect” Matt Calvert

I use the term loosely here because the Blue Jackets’ system is in such rough shape that I’m pretty sure I might find my own name on the team’s prospect list if I looked deep enough.

Calvert is the third best “prospect” in the Blue Jackets’ system according to my Future Watch issue of The Hockey News, a player “…best served in the minors right now, where he can work on becoming a ‘plus’ third-liner.”

A very encouraging scouting report!

Again, it’s a prospector’s product and if Calvert turns in to more than what The Hockey News projects then this could be a nice card to have, but I’m not holding my breath.

As for the card itself, there’s nothing overly special or appealing involved here with an illegible autograph on a sticker that’s slapped overtop of the slightly opaque bottom section of the photo.  Again, the black “Rookies and Traded” banner looks out of place in relation to the rest of the colour scheme on the card.

It’s still better than having no autograph included at all though!

Inserts/Parallels – 4 out of 5

As I mentioned in my intro to this review, each factory set comes with 5 gold parallel cards in addition to the base set and autograph.

I ended up making out pretty well with my pulls, getting one of the best non-Hot Rookies in the set in Jordan Eberle, along with one of the better Hot Rookies in Sergei Bobrovsky.

I love the way Panini faded the gold out as it moves toward the top of the card rather than just making the entire area gold.  I’m also happy to see that the “Rookies and Traded” banner was changed to gold for the parallel set.

These five cards are definitely a nice bonus to get in a factory set.

Memorabilia – N/A

None available in this product.

Rookie Cards – 5 out of 5

As the name of the product would suggest, this set is absolutely loaded with RCs. 

The player selection for the true RCs is hindered somewhat by the fact that the biggest names of the rookie crop for 2010-11 were included in the regular set, but there’s still a pretty impressive selection of guys from across the NHL available in this product.

A lot will never amount to much in the league, but if you’re interested in picking up an assortment of rookie cards and hoping for the best in the long-term, this set is an affordable way to start.

Quality Control – 2.5 out of 5

As with the All Goalies factory set, there was nothing wrong in terms of the condition of the cards in my set of Rookies and Traded. 

Where I did have an issue however, is with the fact that the cards did not come collated, I had to organize the entire set numerically myself!

This was really just a minor inconvenience in the big picture, but even still, when I buy a factory set I don’t expect to have to put the cards in order, I expect them to be that way when I pull the cards out of the box.

An inexplicable move on Panini’s part with this one.

Overall Box Value – 4 out of 5

Though I didn’t get a huge pull for my autograph (not that there are many available outside of Seguin), I’m still very happy with what I received with this purchase.

I really enjoy the look of the set, got something that will become a part of my permanent collection, received a couple of decent parallels that I hope to move for cash and/or cards that I need, and I was impressed by the array of rookies Panini was able to include.

And all this for a piddling investment of $8.  From where I sit, you can do much worse with your $8 than you’ll do with this set.

###

What are your thoughts on the Rookies and Traded set?  Have you bought any of the factory sets yourself or do you just pick up cards you want or need individually? 

Let me and others know by posting a comment, emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting on Twitter and Facebook.

Also, if you have any interest in buying or trading for anything you see above then please just send me a message of some sort and we’ll work something out.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

