Skip to content

Immediate Payment To Be Required for eBay Auctions?

May 23, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Late last week I was sifting through the dozens of blogs I keep an eye and came across a pair of posts from the AuctionBytes and eCommerceBytes Blogs that caught my eye (I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, they are must reads for people serious about selling online).

The articles described that eBay was apparently exploring the possibility of requiring immediate payment for items won in auctions and my immediate reaction was that it’s about time a policy like this was introduced.

Since I sell on eBay so frequently, my support for this idea should come as no surprise at all.

As a seller there is nothing more frustrating than thinking you have locked up a sale only to have the buyer leave you waiting for what seems like an eternity for payment to be sent, or worse, never sending payment at all.

Those types of situations have happened to me on more occasions than I can possibly remember and they always leave me frustrated that eBay seems to offer very little in terms of protecting its sellers.

And while I clearly would be all for a policy I also view this as a positive for my experiences as an eBay buyer.

From time to time I inadvertently lose track of what I have bid on and subsequently won, and forget to make a payment as a result of not checking the eBay system frequently enough. 

That, or I win an auction with a bid placed early in the timeframe in which it is available, go away for a few days, and have no idea until I get home that I even owe someone money.

Instant payment would, in theory, help to alleviate these issues.

My one major concern about such a policy is regarding the impact it might have on buying multiple items from the same seller.

Would I be able to buy multiple items from the same seller and have them include a combined shipping discount?  Or would I be forced to pay for shipping on each individual item won?

If it’s the latter of the two options then not only am I not interested in as many items when I’m the buyer (definitely the case when I’ve run into this with Buy It Now items), but my ability to sell my own items via the auction route would obviously be affected negatively as well.

So my questions for you today are as follows:

  • What are your thoughts on this issue?  Are you for or against the proposed change? 
  • Would implementing such a policy impact your eBay buying habits or would it be business as usual for you?

Get in touch and let me know.  You can post a comment or you can use one of the links below to reach me by email, Facebook, or Twitter.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

