Skip to content

Another Flippin’ Success

June 13, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Before every Toronto Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo show that I attend, I make sure to set aside a little bit of money to spend on cards that have nothing to do with any of my collecting projects, but are cards that I believe I can put on eBay and turn a profit from.

After last year’s Fall Expo I posted an article that highlighted some of my more successful flips from that show.

In that article I made the following comment:

“I am truly surprised by what can be found by digging through the boxes and piles of bargain items that some dealers put out at the show.  Whether it’s a case of not knowing what they have or simply wanting to unload as much as possible as fast as possible, as you’ll see shortly, there definitely seems to be some untapped potential in the bargain bins at the Toronto Expo.”

As you’ll see shortly, that sentiment still holds true after my trip to the Spring Expo on May 4th.

It was in that same article that I openly floated the idea of what became “Business” Goal #4 for 2012: to start and closely monitor an “investment project”.

At the Spring Expo show I spent $81.50 on 60 different items, 54 of which I finally sent to the auction block on Sunday the 3rd of June.

Those auctions ended this past Sunday night and the results completely blew away my expectations.

Of those 54 items that I bought at the show and put up for auction, 35 of them sold for a combined total of $341.16, shattering the results I achieved from the flippers I bought at the Fall 2011 Expo.

Here are the top-five performers from the batch, ranked in order of profit margin:

 

5) John LeClair 1997-98 Donruss Preferred Gold Cut to the Chase Parallel
Bought for $2.00 | Sold for $16.28
Profit: $14.28 | Percent Return: 814%

 

4) Ray Bourque 2010-11 Panini Certified Legends Mirror Gold Parallel /25
Bought for $1.00 | Sold for $18.00
Profit: $17.00 | Percent Return: 1700%

3) Justin Williams 2000-01 Topps Gold Label Rookie Card Class 2 Gold Parallel /66
Bought for $2.00 | Sold for $33.99
Profit: $31.99 | Percent Return: 1600%

2) Mario Lemieux 1996-97 Fleer Metal Universe Ice Carvings Super Power
Bought for $6.00 | Sold for $81.00
Profit Margin: $75.00 | Percent Return: 1250%

 

1) Rod Brind’Amour 1997-98 Upper Deck Game Dated Moments Parallel
Bought for $2.00 | Sold for $77.00
Profit: $75.00 | Percent Return: 3750%

That’s $213.27 in profit and a 1640.5% return from those five cards alone! 

When factoring in every one of the 54 items that I purchased for my investment project at the show, the grand total winds up at $259.66 of profit, with a return on investment of just under 320% on the 54 items.

Those are results that, as I already said, completely shattered my expectations and instantly catapulted my investment project into profitable territory.

I knew that cards such as the Brind’Amour and Lemieux highlighted above were almost certain to sell for more than what I paid for them, but I never expected the margins to be at the levels they ended up being.

Again, I don’t know what the sellers’ rationale is for putting some of these cards out on their tables at such low prices, but I am definitely not going to complain about it.

These results, coupled with my success back in the fall of 2011, have proven to me that taking some time to scour through the bargain bins can definitely be worth my time and it’s something I plan on continuing to do at future shows.

###

Do you have any examples of very profitable flips of your own?  Do you find your most profitable flippers at card shows or online?

Let me know by posting a comment, sending me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting with me on Facebook and/or Twitter.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

