Skip to content

June Self-Sufficiency Summary

June 27, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Barring a massive, last-second spending spree in the final few days of the month, I am happy to say that for the second time in last three months my goal of financial self-sufficiency was achieved in June!

Granted, the first three months of the year were in the red to go along with May, so I’m really only two for six, but why not look at it in a more positive way, right?

There were three main factors involved in making June the most “profitable” month to date (by far):

  1. I finally got around to selling the cards that I bought at Toronto Spring Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo for the sole purpose of flipping them on eBay.;
  2. My eBay Store is slowly getting back to the place it used to be following the lifting of restrictions on my store subscription level and my subsequent relisting of hundreds of items.  As the volume of items available has increased, so too have the sales.; and
  3. My buying has decreased in a dramatic way.  That always tends to be the case after I run the financial well dry at a Toronto Expo show the month before.

Now that the NHL season has mercifully come to an end (why are we watching hockey in June?!?!), I am anticipating the usual hockey hangover to go into effect for both myself and fellow collectors.  I don’t expect sales to be as strong as during the playoff hype time, nor do I expect my own interest in buying, selling, or trading to be as high as it is during hockey season.

I hope to use my steadily decreasing amount of free time to continue to move things in a positive direction when it comes to My eBay Store though, and fully intend on making a few trades over the summer months to continue to cut down on my want lists.

After a month as successful as June was from a self-sufficiency perspective it’s hard not to feel a little more motivated than I have in summers-past and to have a very optimistic view on how things might turn out by year’s end. 

And with June now all but behind us, here’s a look at my progress on achieving the 15 goals and objectives I have set for myself for 2012 that directly impact my ability to make my hobby a financially self-sufficient one:

Collecting

  • Of the handful of cards I did pick up this month, not one of them was a part of my 2006-2010 Toronto Blue Jays project.
  • Collecting Goal #2 of finishing five non-player-specific projects has already been achieved for the year, so now it’s just a matter of seeing how much I can exceed that by.  To date this month, I have 10 cards in hand that come from the remaining want lists, with another one having just been paid for this morning.  Those 11 June acquisitions do not eliminate any of the remaining lists to bump the completed number any further ahead though.
  • A single, lonely card was added to my various player collections this month; a Joe Thornton brought in through a trade on the Sports Card Forum boards. That card did not meet the “more than 10 years old criteria” necessary to achieve Collecting Goal #3 though.  25 such cards for each of Lemieux, Roenick, Samsonov, Thornton, and Yzerman is starting to look overly ambitious, but there’s still plenty of time left in 2012.
  • Once again I didn’t do any purging of duplication from my permanent collection, instead focusing my efforts on relisting old store inventory items and flipping my Toronto Spring Expo purchases as a part of my investment project.
  • As I mentioned already in the third bullet, I completed another trade this month, extending my streak of months in which deals have been done to six in 2012.

 “Business”

  • June was definitely a huge step in the right direction for moving towards achieving my goal of a 10% increase in both volume of items sold and revenue, but I still have a long way to go before that can even be considered to be within reach.  A very strong second half of the year is a must if I hope to achieve “Business” Goal #1.
  • At the time of writing this article I’m back up to an inventory of 1230 items in my eBay store, with over 1100 more prepped for listing in eBay’s Turbo Lister software program.  Those number combined leave me about 40% of the way to the number I anticipate needing to meet “Business” Goal #3 of having my hockey card listings account for 1% of that category on eBay.ca.
  • Not much progress on generating income from sources other than my eBay Store this month (or on the year for that matter).  Definitely need to start acting on some of the ideas I have in mind or else this will have been a fruitless endeavor.
  • I picked up a slew of cards for my investment project at the Toronto Expo, all of which will be headed for the auction block or for listing in my eBay Store in the coming days.  A single card from the inventory sold as well (got $5 for something I paid $0.99 for), leaving the inventory at 153 cards and the account with roughly $115 available to spend.
  • I spent very little time on my website, but again, I have some ideas in mind for how I can continue to improve it, both in terms of being an income generator and on how to make it a better resource for fellow collectors.  Another area I need to get to work on.

Writing

  • Outside of these month-end updates, I feel as though I’m getting a much better handle on shortening up my articles.  They may still seem a little long to some, but getting the average down to between 500 and 600 words is quite an accomplishment.
  • The range of topics I wrote about this month was more expansive than usual, with a nice mix of accomplishments (writing, collecting, and selling), eBay related issues, trading, inquiries, and of course a post dedicated to my dad (even though it was late).
  • There was a definite uptick in reader engagement this month, with more posts being “liked” and more subscribers coming on board than in any other month I can remember in 2012.  The numbers still have a ton of room for improvement, but I was definitely pleased with the direction things headed this month.
  • I included useful links and resources in a couple of the articles I wrote, but I definitely need to do a better job of that moving forward.  As many articles as possible need to point readers in the direction of useful information.
  • My eBay Store Monthly Newsletter continues to hum along.  Subscribe to it today through your eBay account so you can receive the next one over the Canada Day long weekend.

So there you have it, the monthly wrap up at the midway point of the year.

As always, I welcome your feedback on anything that is posted here on the bbbros.ca blog, this article included.

Leave a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

If you haven’t done so already, please feel free to subscribe to this blog and receive instant updates anytime I post a new article.  Use the RSS feed or just click the link or the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column of the page.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

