Skip to content

Recommended Reading | Out of My League: A Rookie’s Survival in the Bigs – by Dirk Hayhurst

July 18, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | RSS Feed

It’s another first here today on the bbbros.ca blog.  After months of intending to post articles dedicated solely to providing readers with resources and materials that I think they might be interested in, I’m finally getting around to just that.

I added a Resources page to my website a while ago now where I list a number of websites and blogs that I enjoy (and think you might too) and have been looking to add books and news articles to the mix as well. 

That starts today with my first “Recommended Reading” article, featuring a quick review of the very entertaining Dirk Hayhurst’s second book about his career as a professional baseball player, one that I got for my birthday from my brother.

While Out of My League is not a book written about collecting sports cards and memorabilia (though selling teammates’ autographs on eBay is mentioned!), I figure that sports collectors will appreciate a book that provides a behind the scenes look to a world we have all dreamed of being a part of at one point or another.

This book does exactly that, but rather than regaling readers with tales of triumph and glamour, Hayhurst instead focusses on the trials and tribulations he experienced while making it to “The Show” and the realities he faced as a rookie learning the ropes with the big league team.

Hayhurst walks readers through his path to the majors, telling of the poverty-stricken realities of the typical minor-leauger, the euphoria of finally achieving his big-league dream, and the nightmare of quickly finding himself as an overwhelmed rookie who feels his career is coming crashing down around him.

With the number of players who are churned through the major leagues year after year his is a story that I would have to imagine is likely the norm rather than the exception.  It’s refreshing to finally hear from that generally silent majority.

We’re all aware that there are many instances in life when things aren’t what they’re cracked up to be and Hayhurst reminds his readers how that holds true even in the situations we automatically assume would be so dazzling.  

The brutal honesty with which he speaks about the system that is professional baseball and the people and personalities involved in it made for a very interesting read.

Hayhurst actually played for the Blue Jays in 2009 while I was still working for Jays Care Foundation, the club’s charitable arm. 

I remember the Player Relations person from the Marketing Department telling me about this quirky new pitcher on the roster who was a writing a book about his life in baseball and included a cartoon of a half-giraffe, half-moose character with many of his autographs for fans.

I have been meaning to pick up that book ever since I it was released, but like many things in my life, I simply hadn’t gotten around to it.  Even though Out of My League is the follow-up to his original release I am very happy that I finally got to read Hayhurst’s work. 

Almost as soon as I finished this book off I was on Amazon ordering The Bullpen Gospels, which should be arriving any day now. 

If it’s anywhere near as good as Out of My League then you can expect another edition of Recommended Reading to be posted in the not too distant future.

In the mean time, let me know your thoughts on this one if you happened to have read it as well.  Also, if you have any books, blogs, or other resources that you think I should read and potentially share here on the bbbros.ca blog get in touch and let me know about them.

Post a comment, send me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connect with me on Facebook and/or Twitter.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

