Skip to content

My “Local” Card Shop Set to Become My Local Card Shop Once Again!

July 25, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

This past Saturday I made a trip out to my “local” card shop to get in on the action at the store’s monthly trade day.

As I have in the past when referring to this particular store, I use quotations around the word local because it’s actually a 25 minute drive from my house to a small town just south of the city I live in.  Unfortunately that’s the most local option I have available to me.

Finding very little trading going on (a handful of people were there for a group box break, but few others…I should have expected that to be the case on a gorgeous summer day) I spent my visit to the store tracking down a bunch of cards that I need for some of the base sets I’m trying to finish off, finding a stack of cards to add to my 2006-2010 Toronto Blue Jays project, and grabbing myself a box of 2011-12 Panini Rookie Anthology

A pretty productive trip considering the main reason that I went didn’t work out this time around.

More exciting than any of those finds however, was the news that the store’s manager told me while I was there: as of the end of the month the store would be relocating to its original home in a mall near where I live.

What’s exciting about that for me is that this mall is only about a five-minute walk from my house.

Back when the store was originally in this location I was living in a different part of town and didn’t make it over there as often as I would have liked.  By the time I moved into my current place the store had moved twice, first to the opposite end of the city, then out of the city entirely, creating a less than convenient situation for me anytime I needed supplies or wanted to get my hands on some packs.

Well that problem is soon to exist no more!

Having a card store just steps from my door is definitely a good thing when it comes to the collecting end of my personal mega-hobby and will likely provide me with more subject matter for this little blog, but as I told the manager on the weekend the new location could be dangerous for my wallet.

The type of restraint I have been able to exercise on retail products from the likes of Wal-Mart and Toys ‘R Us will now have to be carried over to the local card shop as well as I continue with my pursuit of a making my hobby financially self-sufficient.

Either way, I’m happy to have a hobby option basically in my own backyard and look forward to stopping in to the new, old location as soon as I can.

Until Sunday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | RSS Feed

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2012 4:10 PM

    That’s so awesome! You’re very lucky! I would love to have a LCS that did trade nights and group breaks 5 mins from my house. But yes, like you, my wallet would be in DEEP trouble. So maybe it’s a good thing I don’t have a LCS? :P

Trackbacks

  1. July Self-Sufficiency Summary « the bbbros.ca blog
  2. Retail Review: 12 Packs of 2010-11 Pinnacle « the bbbros.ca blog
  3. Time to Get Things Back on Track with the Disappearance of Summer Time-Takers « the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

