Skip to content

Retail Review: 12 Packs of 2010-11 Pinnacle

August 5, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

A week ago tonight my wife and I were running all over the city picking up groceries and some last-minute camping supplies for the week of vacation that we’re currently on (this post coming to you courtesy of the WordPress scheduling feature!).

Conveniently enough for me, among the stops on our list was Toys ‘R Us to pick up some jumbo reusable bags that apparently only they sell.  Since this is one of my two local retail options for hockey cards, clearly I was ok with any stop that allowed me to see what I could blow my collecting budget on.

As luck would have it, there was a bin filled to the brim with packs for just $1.00 each right at the front entrance, so my attention was occupied immediately.

The usual mix of 2007-08 through 2009-10 O-Pee-Chee and a smattering of years of Upper Deck Victory were readily available, but a little digging also turned up a bunch of packs of 2010-11 Pinnacle.

I had not bought any of this product when it was released last year, but at a buck per pack and with an entire week absent of any semblance of my hobby awaiting me, I decided to pick out a bunch of the packs, eventually cutting myself off at 12.

When I strolled over to take a look at the rack where the blaster boxes and repacks are kept, I saw that 8 pack blasters of this product were still $24.99 plus tax, so my 12 packs for $12 seemed like an even better deal than it had moments before.

Little did I know that my little $12 splurge was going to look even better by the time I got home and opened the packs.  So much better in fact, that as it turned out, the comment above of “blow my collecting budget” may turn out to be a completely inaccurate statement about my trip to the store this time around.

Things actually started off well before we even left the parking lot.  As I was paying for my packs my wife picked up the stack to carry out to the car and on our walk out of the store she commented that one of the packs looked thicker than the rest, something I had not noticed (no, I do not pack search!) in my 2-minute mad scramble to grab some packs and still stay on schedule with all of the running around we had left to do.

I let her open that pack and sure enough, out came a Tobias Enstrom Threads jersey card /499.

Not a bad looking card, especially since the jersey swatch is a different colour than the surrounding cardboard, which allows it to stand out nicely.

I assumed that would be the best of what was in the lot.  I was wrong.

In the end every single one of the 12 packs I bought yielded either an insert or a rookie card to go along with the Enstrom. 

In Pack 2 I found this:

Pack 3 had another rookie:

Pack 4 gave me one of the best rookies of the 2010-11 crop:

Pack 5 had the first of five inserts/parallels:

Pack 6 contained another of the Oilers top prospects:

Pack 7 turned up another Team Pinnacle card:

Pack 8 was back to the rookies:

Pack 9 had yet another Team Pinnacle insert:

Pack 10 gave me my first look at the Saving Face set:

Pack 11 followed that up with my first Rink Collection parallel:

And to round things out, another solid Ice Breakers rookie was in Pack 12:

Needless to say, my expectations of what I was going to get from my 12-pack purchase were completely blown away and I couldn’t be happier about it!

The Team Pinnacle, Saving Face, and Rink Collection cards look absolutely awesome in-hand with the dufex.  I do wish that both sides of the Team Pinnacle cards had that feature though, instead of it just appearing on the front of the card.

I also got a solid haul from the six rookies I pulled, obviously highlighted by the Eberle.

The base set also features some of the best photography you could ask for though it did include a few duds too.  Here’s a few of my favourites:

With these packs being such a success for me, I’m all but certain that I’ll be making a trip back to the store in search of more when I get back from my holidays.

I’m not likely to pursue anything beyond the base set at this point, so if you’re interested in any of the cards pictured above, get in touch and perhaps we can work out a deal.  Sending me an email at bb_bros@hotmail.com, post a comment here in this article, or connect on Facebook and Twitter.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

 

Leave a Reply

