Skip to content

Consider This Collector Completely Confused

August 26, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

About 10 days or so ago The Hockey Couple posted a couple of entries on their blog with the checklists for the first releases for the 2012-13 from both Upper Deck and Panini.

Barring another lockout the season should be getting underway in roughly six weeks time, so I wasn’t overly surprised to see some information coming out about new products for the coming year.  

What did surprise me is when I saw a review of 2012-13 O-Pee-Chee posted on the aforementioned blog a few days later, followed by a review of 2012-13 Score yesterday.

Both Upper Deck and Panini still have 2011-12 products that have yet to be released and this situation creates what to me is a bizarre set of circumstances that sees the releases of two different years of products overlapping with one another.

This has me completely, 100% confused.

How is it that a 2012-13 product is already on store shelves when the 2011-12 lineup has yet to be wrapped up?

Another confusing twist for me is that Upper Deck generally releases Victory as its first product of the year if memory serves me correctly.  Is Upper Deck simply changing things up and releasing Victory later than usual this season or is the product dead?

Perhaps this is all catching me off guard because I generally don’t pay nearly as much attention to hockey cards in the off-season as I would in the winter months.  Maybe the answers to my questions are already out there.  

If any of you have some answers or insights to these questions I’d love to hear them though.  Post a comment, email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com or connect on Facebook and Twitter.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 10:25 PM

    1.) It’s really special for both Krisy and I (Tim) to see that you mention us and our blog in posts of yours. We deeply appreciate it and it totally excites us and makes us want to write more.

    2.) I love your blog. I love the way you write and what you write on. It’s incredibly interesting. Keep it up!

    3.) You are 110% right, I don’t understand why 12-13 products are coming out when there are still 11-12 products to be released. It’s really kind of aggravating. The product year should run from September to August. Don’t get the product out in August? Too bad for you. I thought the NHLPA had rules on this but I could be wrong.

    • August 31, 2012 5:48 AM

      Hi Tim and Krisy.

      Very happy to include links to your blog in my articles. I’m always looking to include useful info for readers of my blog, so I’m happy to do it. I also really enjoy reading what you post as well, a very unique take on a card collecting blog. Thanks for the info on Victory too!

  2. August 29, 2012 10:27 PM

    Oh yeah, and to answer one of your questions, UD squashed the Victory product for the 11-12 product year. It was inserted into Series 1 and Series 2 as an insert.

Trackbacks

  1. Here We Go Again – The NHL Officially Locks Out Its Players « the bbbros.ca blog
  2. Photographic Follies, Volume 6: 2005-2006 Upper Deck Goal Celebrations « the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

