Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

October 7, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Holiday weekends are always a hectic time for me, trying to cram in visits with my in-laws, dad and step-mom, and mom and step-dad, often at points scattered all over Ontario.

This Thanksgiving weekend has been more of the same and I’m posting this article just minutes before making the three and a half hour trip to my third stop in three nights.

But it’s all worthwhile when I get to spend some quality time with all of the most important people in my life, something I think we all tend to take for granted a little bit.

Last year I went into some detail about the important role my family plays in my hobby and why I’m thankful for their support.  Since none of that has changed over the last twelve months and so that I don’t end up simply repeating what I wrote at this time last year, I won’t go into nearly as much detail this year.

One special thank you that I would like to extend on this weekend of giving thanks is to Shane, a.k.a. Charles Barkley on Sports Card Forum.

Shane came across my want list thread and saw that I only needed a trio of cards to finish off the 2010-11 Pinnacle base set I opted to build after buying a bunch of packs from the dollar bin at the local Toys R’ Us.  He was kind enough to send me the three cards I needed while asking for absolutely nothing in return.

It is random acts of kindness such as these that make this hobby so great and make me thankful for forcing myself back into the world of trading, where interactions with other collectors involve so much more than a Paypal exchange.

And with that I’m off to make the trek north to my mom’s cabin out in the middle of nowhere for another night of great food and great people.  I hope that all of my fellow Canadian collectors are having a great Thanksgiving long weekend as well!

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

