Skip to content

What Are Your Thoughts on eBay’s Trading Assistant Program?

October 28, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

As I continue my push toward a hobby that is 100% financially self-sufficient, one of the things I have been trying to do this year is generate income from sources other than my eBay Store.

Generally I have been looking at these “other sources” as existing off-eBay and to date they have been less than successful for me.

But last week I was somehow reminded of an eBay program that might allow for some additional revenue generation and may allow me to come by that extra cash more simply than through the off-eBay options. 

That program is the eBay’s Trading Assistant Directory.

I don’t remember what reminded me of it exactly, but I thought it might be worth a look as I aim to expand where I generate hobby-related funds from.

The program is pretty straight forwardAs eBay states, people who use Trading Assistants can save time and money, take advantage of selling expertise, and most importantly, make money.

Basically, experienced eBay sellers such as me commit to selling items on consignment for people who don’t have the time, desire, experience, or commitment to sell their items themselves.

I would have to negotiate terms such as who will pay the fees and what percentage consignment fee I would take from each sale.

Most appealing of all for me, enrolling in the program is free.

A consignment program is something I have long considered doing and becoming an eBay Trading Assistant seems like a pretty easy way to execute one.

But I have some concerns.

The main concern for me is that I have absolutely no experience with the program, both from the perspective of the person offering the service and from the perspective of the person utilizing the service.

Moreover, I have never heard of someone who has used a Trading Assistant to sell their items, nor have I ever heard of someone who offers the service.

Therefore, I really have no idea what I would be getting myself into and whether or not it would be worth my time.

So before I jump in with both feet, I was hoping to get some feedback from people who have made use of the program.

If you’ve used or are using the Trading Assistant program, please let me know what your experiences have been like.  Were you pleased with what you got out of it or was it a disappointment?

If you haven’t used the program before let me know if it is something that would appeal to you.  I want to know why or why not.

You can get in touch and give me your take by posting a comment, emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connecting on Facebook and Twitter.

And while you’re at it, don’t forget to subscribe to the bbbros.ca blog by clicking the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column or via the RSS feed for instant updates when I post a new article every Wednesday and Sunday.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

