Skip to content

Box Break: 2011-12 Panini Rookie Anthology #2

November 18, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

At last weekend’s Toronto Fall Expo I did my usual search for boxes packs to rip open after the show.  Boxes were actually pretty easy to come by this time around, though there was only one dealer with any significant kind of selection from which I could choose.

After scouring the floor all night in search of what I felt was the best deal available to me I settled on a box of 2011-12 Panini Rookie Anthology, a product that I had already purchased a box of earlier in the year.

The main reason I decided to go with another box of Rookie Anthology is that my last experience with opening a box of it was a pretty good one in my books.  I really enjoyed the look of the cards, both with the base set cards and the memorabilia and rookie cards that the product is loaded up with.

Finding the box for just $70 seemed like a good deal to me, especially when you consider the fact that I paid significantly more than that for my first box and other dealers at the show were selling it in the $85 to $100 range.

I also knew what to expect going: a complete crap shoot that had the short-term potential for a big hit and the long-term potential of being something of a prospecting product.

For as happy as I was with my first box of this product, this second box was even better for me. 

Since I’ve already posted my more traditional review of the box break and the product once this year, today I’m simply going to show off the cards rather than give ratings to the various aspects of a product that I pass judgement based on.

Here’s how my second box of Rookie Anthology shaped up in terms of pulls/hits:

The non-memorabilia rookie cards definitely left a lot to be desired.  Of the six I pulled I only recognize two of the names (Miele and Hayes).  The other four I’m betting I won’t be hearing of as NHL superstars anytime soon.

As for the remainder of the pulls I am very happy with what I ended up pulling. 

Lack is an up and coming prospect in the Canucks system and although he is currently behind Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider on the depth chart there still seems to be some pretty positive buzz around him in hockey circles.  I love the look of the Rookie Treasures cards and I’m quite happy to have ended up with Lack as my pull.

Speaking of positive buzz, the second memorabilia/autograph rookie I pulled in this box is a Certified Gustav Nyqvist of my beloved Detroit Red Wings.  Nyqvist sounds to be the latest star in the making from the Red Wings system.  I rarely seem to pull rookie cards of guys from the Red Wings, so this was a pretty cool one to get.

If either of Lack or Nyqvist live up to the hype and become big names in the league then I may have done pretty well for myself with this box.

Then there are the three remaining memorabilia cards, two of which come from the Pinnacle Starting Six set.  I was thrilled when I pulled the Kings card from an early pack in the box and downright shocked to see the second one featuring all rookies come out of a pack towards the end.

Getting a pull like this of the Stanley Cup champions was a pleasant surprise and the potential of the rookies featured on the other card is pretty intriguing.  I’m pretty happy I ended up with a pair of these instead of another pair of the Rookie Rivalry memorabilia cards my first box netted me.

Finally, there’s the Luxury Suite jersey/stick card of Dion Phaneuf that came in the bonus pack on the top of the box.  The camo jersey swatch looks absolutely ludicrous to me, though I must admit that it is a rather unique piece.  I really like the Luxury Suite cards from this set and though there are players I would have rather pulled, the fact that I live in the Toronto area gives me some hope that I might be able to find a taker for this card sooner rather than later though.

Once again I was quite impressed by what I got out of Rookie Anthology and I have to admit that if I can find boxes of the product in the same price range as what I paid for this box I would be pretty tempted to pick up another one.

If you are interested in buying or trading for anything you see above just post a comment, email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com, or connect on Twitter and/or Facebook.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

